USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Getting Started with Registration



FMCSA monitors and ensures compliance with motor carrier safety (all carriers) and commercial (for-hire, non-exempt carriers) regulations. Companies may be subject to registration requirements for both safety (safety registration) and commercial regulation (operating authority registration). Companies subject to the safety requirements are also required to obtain a USDOT Number.

The FMCSA registration process requires companies to define their type of business operation: Motor Carrier, Broker, Intermodal Equipment Provider (IEP), Cargo Tank Facility, and Freight Forwarder. This determination is based on self-classification using criteria such as cargo, operation, and company type. 

Accordingly, the Agency administers the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR) and Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMR) that govern interstate - and some intrastate - commercial trucking and bus industries. 

Steps In The FMCSA Registration Process

  1. Determine FMCSA registration needs/requirements:
  2. Complete FMCSA Application Process