USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

FAQ - Requirements for Drivers in the Under 21 Military CDL Pilot Program

Q1: What training and experience does the military provide its drivers that make them eligible for CDLs?

A1: Four branches of the Department of Defense (DoD)–Army, Marine Corps, Navy, and Air Force–provide extensive training operating heavy-duty trucks and buses. These services provide additional training for other heavy-duty specialty vehicles (e.g., gasoline haulers, construction vehicles, and military equipment transport oversize/overweight [non-track] vehicles).

Both FMCSA and the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators have reviewed the basic training programs for heavy vehicle operations, based on the military occupational specialty (MOS) code of the service members, and determined them to be equal to, or greater than, the standards required for civilian CDL applicants.

The MOS, ratings, or job skills approved for the pilot program include:

  • Army:                  
    • 12B - Combat Engineer                                                               
    • 13B - Field Artillery                                                                                                     
    • 13P - Multiple Launch Rocket System
    • 14T - Patriot Launching Station Operator                                     
    • 88H - Transportation Cargo                                                         
    • 88M - Motor Transport Operator
    • 92F - Fueler 
  • Marine Corps:     
    • 811 - Field Artillery Cannoneer
    • 1371 - Combat Engineer
    • 1345 - Engineer Equipment Operator
    • 3531 - Motor Vehicle Operator 
    • 3537 - Motor Transport Operations Chief
  • Navy:                     
    • EO - Equipment Operator 
  • Air Force:            
    • 2TI - Vehicle Operator
    • 2FO - Fueler 
    • 3E2 - Pavement and Construction Equipment Operator

Details regarding these MOS, ratings, and job skills are in the Federal Register Notice announcing the program.

Q2: How will FMCSA determine driver eligibility?

A2: FMCSA will review and verify details of any past CMV driving experience and demographic information for each driver, to assess qualifications for participation in the study and/or control groups.

Q3: What are the responsibilities of participating covered drivers?

A3: Interested covered drivers will be required to:

  • Be 18, 19, or 20 years of age as of the date they are approved by FMCSA for participation;
  • Apply for employment directly to an approved pilot program carrier listed on the FMCSA website;  
  • Have certification from a military service of training and experience in driving heavy vehicles while in military service;
  • Agree to the release of specific information to FMCSA for purposes of the pilot;
  • Meet all Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations requirements (except age) for operating a CMV in interstate commerce; and
  • Operate primarily in interstate commerce if hired.

Q3: Is this pilot program limited to military veterans?

A3: No, the pilot program is open to active duty, veterans and members of the National Guard and military reserve components as long as they meet the basic requirements.

Q4:  Will an applicant with a dishonorable discharge be allowed to participate in the pilot?

A4: No, military personnel who were dishonorably discharged are not eligible to participate in the pilot program.

Q5. What limitations are placed on drivers operating in the pilot?

A5: Covered drivers may not transport passengers or hazardous materials, nor operate double- or triple-trailer combinations or cargo tank vehicles while participating in the pilot program, regardless of any license endorsements held.

Last updated: Thursday, October 8, 2020