USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Even Exchange Program (Knowledge Test Waiver)


This program allows qualified military drivers to be exempt from the knowledge test for obtaining a commercial driver's license (CDL).

When used with the Military Skills Test Waiver, this allows a driver to exchange a military license for a CDL. Military personnel can use this skills test waiver if currently licensed and are or were employed within the past year (12 months) in a military position requiring the operation of a military motor vehicle equivalent to a commercial motor vehicle.

To qualify for this program, military personnel should have one of the below military occupational specialty or occupational classification:

  • U.S. Army:                    
    • 88M - Motor Transport Operator
    • 92F - Fueler 
    • 14T - Patriot Launching Station Operator 
  • U.S. Marine Corps:     
    • 3531 - Motor Vehicle Operator
  • U.S. Navy:                     
    • EO - Equipment Operator 
  • U.S. Air Force:            
    • 2TI - Vehicle Operator 
    • 2FO - Fueler
    • 3E2 - Pavement and Construction Equipment Operator                                                          

While the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulations (49 CFR 383.77) establish the minimum standards that each State agency must follow in administrating the program, each State may have a different form and application process. Contact your State Driver License Agency to learn more. 

Participating states are indicated on the below map. 

Even Exchange State Implementation Status

Map of US
Updated as of June 2024

The image above illustrates the states that currently waive Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) knowledge and skills tests for certain trained and experienced military drivers. FMCSA will continue to update the map as we are made aware of States that offer the waivers.

Green: States currently participating

  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Wisconsin
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Missouri
  • South Carolina
  • Idaho
  • Georgia
  • New Mexico
  • Kentucky
  • West Virginia 
  • California
  • Iowa
  • Minnesota
  • Texas
  • Ohio

Yellow: States which have indicated they are working on implementation

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Washington
  • Wyoming