USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Commercial Driver's License Testing and Commercial Learner's Permit Standards

Final rule.

FMCSA amends the commercial driver's license (CDL) knowledge and skills testing standards and establishes new minimum Federal standards for States to issue the commercial learner's permit (CLP). The rule requires that a CLP holder meet virtually the same requirements as those for a CDL holder, meaning that a driver holding a CLP will be subject to the same driver disqualification penalties that apply to a CDL holder. This final rule also implements section 4019 of the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21), section 4122 of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU), and section 703 of the Security and Accountability For Every Port Act of 2006 (SAFE Port Act). It will enhance safety by ensuring that only qualified drivers are allowed to operate commercial motor vehicles on our nation's highways.

View PDF