USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Commercial Driver's License Standards; Requirements and Penalties; Noncommercial Motor Vehicle Violations

Notice of proposed rulemaking (NPRM); request for comments.

The FMCSA proposes disqualification regulations for drivers subject to the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 (CMVSA). Sections 201(b) and 202(h) of the Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999 (MCSIA) amended the CMVSA by adding disqualification requirements for a commercial driver's license (CDL) holder convicted of committing violations while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle (non-CMV). Each State would be required to disqualify the CDL upon conviction by revoking, suspending, or canceling it. Each employer would be required to stop using a driver from driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) upon the State's disqualification. The purpose of this proposal is to enhance the safety of CMV operations on our nation's highways.

View PDF