USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

FMCSA Launches Training Provider Registry to Ensure Entry-Level Truck and Bus Drivers Complete Training that Meets New Federal Standards

Monday, February 7, 2022

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) launched its Training Provider Registry as the final step in implementing new entry-level driver training standards for individuals seeking to obtain a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or certain endorsements.

The Training Provider Registry is an online database that aims to improve highway safety by:

  • Maintaining the list of registered training providers that have self-certified they meet Federal training requirements; and
  • Retaining a record of all individuals who have completed the required entry-level driver training. 

As of February 7, 2022, entry-level drivers subject to the Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) regulations must complete the required training from a registered training provider before obtaining a CDL or specified endorsement for the first time. State Driver Licensing Agencies will now use the information in the Training Provider Registry to verify that a CDL applicant has completed the required training before administering the applicable skills or knowledge test.

Individuals subject to the ELDT regulations include those applying to:

  • Obtain a Class A or Class B CDL for the first time;
  • Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL; or
  • Obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time.

Individuals that hold a commercial learner’s permit (CLP) issued before February 7, 2022 are not subject to the ELDT requirements, so long as they obtain a CDL before the CLP or renewed CLP expires. Individuals that previously held the types of licenses or endorsements listed above are not subject to EDLT regulations, even if the previously-issued license or endorsement is no longer valid.

“With an increasing number of people applying for CDLs over the past year, there has never been a more important time to implement minimum uniform training standards that ensure new drivers have both the knowledge and skills to operate safely,” said Jack Van Steenburg, Executive Director and Chief Safety Officer. “The ELDT regulations were developed with input from driver and training organizations, motor carriers, state licensing agencies, safety advocacy groups, and insurance companies. The Training Provider Registry will efficiently connect training providers, entry-level drivers, and State Driver Licensing Agencies to promote compliance with these essential safety regulations.”

The Federal ELDT regulations, which cover both classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction, will ensure that entry-level drivers receive the knowledge and skills necessary to safely operate a commercial motor vehicle. 

Individuals seeking to obtain entry-level driver training must search for a training provider on the Training Provider Registry at

All entities intending to provide entry level driver training, including companies, organizations, public agencies, and individuals, must visit the Training Provider Registry to register with FMCSA. Training providers can learn more about the requirements they must meet, including those related to instructor qualifications, training curricula, facilities, equipment, and state licensing, and begin registration at

About the Training Provider Registry
The Training Provider Registry is an FMCSA online database that will improve road safety by ensuring that all entry-level drivers receive comprehensive training from a self-certified training provider prior to obtaining a CDL, upgrade, or endorsement.

The ELDT regulations were mandated under the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21). 

Stay connected with FMCSA and USDOT via: | FMCSA on Facebook | FMCSA on Twitter | Medium
FMCSA on Instagram | FMCSA on LinkedIn | Our Roads, Our Safety on Facebook