USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

FMCSA Announces New Commercial Driver Panel Members to Provide Feedback on Critical CMV Issues and Initiatives

Friday, January 15, 2021

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administrator (FMCSA) today announced it has named 25 drivers from all sectors of the industry to serve as a new panel to the Agency’s Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee (MCSAC) comprised of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers. 

FMCSA believes in listening to our drivers and hearing their concerns directly. We know that many of the solutions to the challenges we face don’t come from Washington—they come from the hard-working men and women who are behind the wheel all over our nation.  This new subcommittee to MCSAC will further help us hear from America’s commercial drivers,” said FMCSA Deputy Administrator Wiley Deck.

This new panel will provide direct feedback to FMCSA on important issues facing the driving community—such as safety, hours-of-service regulations, training, parking, and driver experience. This new panel is comprised of 25 drivers from all sectors of the CMV industry—tractor trailer drivers, straight truck drivers, motor coach drivers, hazardous materials drivers, agriculture haulers, and more. 

FMCSA has focused on hearing directly from commercial drivers and incorporating their opinions and concerns into the Agency’s safety initiatives.  The Agency continues to hold listening sessions and discussions with the motor carrier industry to gather feedback and shape FMCSA’s priorities.

The panelists include:

Mr. Todd Spencer, Chairman
Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA)

Mr. William Bennett III
UPS Freight

Mr. Teddy Cranford
Waste Management of Maryland, Inc

Ms. Debra Desiderato
Walkabout Transport

Mr. Douglas Feathers
URS Midwest Inc.

Mr. Steve Fields
YRC Freight

Ms. JoAnne Forbes
MBT Worldwide, Inc.

Mr. Gerald Fritts, Jr.
American Overland Freight

Mr. Attila Gyorfi
RSP Express Inc.

Mr. W. Scott Harrison
K Limited Carriers

Ms. Rhonda Hartman
Old Dominion Freight Lines

Mr. Darwin Hershberger
Hershberger Livestock, LLC

Mr. Daniel Kobussen
Kobussen Buses, Ltd.

Ms. Deb Labree
Castle Transport, LLC

Mr. Alphonso Lewis
YRC Freight

Mr. Don Logan
FedEx Freight

Ms. Kellylynn McLaughlin
Schneider National, Inc.

Ms. Tina Peterson
Ravenwood Transport

Mr. Stephen Pryor
Greyhound Lines, Inc.

Mr. H. Kevin (Brandy) Russell
Transport America

Mr. Douglas Smith
Ralph Smith Co.

Mr. Kevin Steichen
Steichen Trucking

Ms. Angelique Temple
Atlantic Bulk Carrier

Ms. Desirée Wood
Real Women in Trucking

To learn more about the MCSAC committee, visit:

Stay connected with FMCSA via: | FMCSA on Facebook | FMCSA on Twitter
FMCSA on Instagram | FMCSA on LinkedIn | Our Roads, Our Safety on Facebook

# # #