USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Safety Programs

NTC’s Safety Programs include all commercial vehicle safety and criminal interdiction training, as well as instructor development training for Federal and State commercial motor vehicle (CMV) enforcement trainers. This also includes NTC’s signature program, the FMCSA Academy, where all newly-hired FMCSA safety investigators and border inspectors receive training. Each year, approximately 15,000 State law enforcement partners, approximately 95% of NTC’s learners, participate in Safety Programs training. 

These trainings adhere to the Certification Policy for Employees Who Perform Inspections, Investigations and Safety Audits, where applicable.

Training Courses

Specific training courses include:

FMCSA Academy

  • Agency-Industry Orientation
  • Basic Investigative Techniques (BIT)
  • Interviewing and Investigative Techniques
  • Personal Safety


  • Advanced Drug and Alcohol Investigative Techniques 
  • Commercial Enforcement and Consumer Protection (CECP)
  • Enforcement Procedures-Investigative 
  • Enforcement Procedures-Roadside 
  • Investigative Safety Analysis (ISA)
  • New Entrant Safety Audit Course (NESA)
  • Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE)


Hazardous Materials

  • Cargo Tank Facility Review (CTFR)
  • Cargo Tank Inspection (CTI)
  • General Hazardous Materials (GHM)*
  • Other Bulk Packaging (OBP)


*These courses are included in FMCSA Academy Training, as well as available as standalone courses.

Learn more about the FMCSA Academy