USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Instructor Certification Program

The Instructor Certification Program is open to individuals currently employed by FMCSA or a participating State program who present NTC trainings as part of their duties. Participants can receive certification as a Presenter, Instructor, or Master Instructor. 

Requirements for Certification

NTC coursework is categorized into three tiers that correspond to the level of certification required for each role. The three tiers are:

  1. Outreach and Education
  2. Safety Program Certification
  3. NTC Certification

Each role’s description includes the tasks and responsibilities, as well as the required knowledge, skills, and competencies, for a favorable performance. These requirements are the foundation for the selection, development, and evaluation of instructors.  

To learn more about the course, review the Instructor Certification Program Manual.

Ready to Apply?

To apply, download, complete and submit the Instructor Certification Program Application

If you have any questions, contact us at