Official US Government Icon

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

Secure Site Icon

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on coronavirus.gov.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

RI Based on this declaration the Division of Motor Vehicle s hereby exercises its authority, pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 31- 2-28. to extend

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
ADMINISTRATION OFFICE
600 New London Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920-3024
Phone: 401-462-4368
www.dmv.ri.gov

EXPIRATION DATE EXTENSIONS

On March 9. 2020, Governor Gina M. Raimondo issued Executive Order 20-02 declaring a state of emergency for the State of Rhode Island due to the dangers to health and life posedby COVID-1 9. Based on this declaration the Division of Motor Vehicle s hereby exercises its authority, pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 31- 2-28. to extend the following expiration dates:

  1. All Rhode Island drivers· licenses, permits, and identification cards set to expire between March 1,2020 and March 31 , 2020 shall now expire on April 30, 2020.
  2. All Rhode Island registrations set to expire on March 3, 2020 shall now expire on April 30, 2020.
  3. Al l Rhode Island special use identification tags issue d by motor vehicle dealers ("20 - day temporary plates' ") between March I. 2020 and March 31 , 2020 shall be valid for up to 40 days from the date of issuance.
  4. All Rhode Island 5-day temporary registration plates issued between March 1,, 2020 and March 31, 2020 shall be valid for up to 40 days from the date of issuance.
  5. Rhode Island residents who purchase a motor vehicle from Rhode Island motor vehicle dealers, out-of-state motor vehicle dealers, or private parties between March 1 , 2020 and March 3 1, 2020 shall have up to 40 days to register the vehicle if the purchaser’s prior motor vehicle and the newly purchased motor vehicle are of the same type and the registration plates from the purchaser' s prior motor vehicle will be transferred to the newly purchased motor vehicle.
  6. All Rhode Island inspection certificates/stickers set to expire on March 31 , 2020 shall now expire on April 30, 2020.
  7. All Rhode Island disability parking privilege placards set to expire between March I, 2020 and March 31, 2020 shall now expire on April 30, 2020.
  8. All Rhode Island motor vehicle inspection station and motor vehicle inspector permits set to expire between March I, 2020 and March 31, 2020 shall now expire on April 30, 2020.
  9. All Rhode Island window tint med icl condition exemption certificates set to expire between March 1, 2020 and March 31. 2020 shall now expire on April 30, 2020.

By Order Of:

Walter R. Craddock, Esq., CFP
Administrator

Date: March 17, 2020
 

Last updated: Friday, March 27, 2020