USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Commercial Driver's License: Application for Exemption; Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Notice of final disposition; denial of application for exemption.

FMCSA announces its denial of an application for exemption, filed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), from the commercial driver's license (CDL) skills testing regulation requiring the three-part CDL skills test to be administered and successfully completed in the following order: pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control skills, and on-road skills. The FLHSMV applied for an exemption to allow the tester, at their discretion, to continue testing an applicant who fails the pre-trip inspection or basic vehicle controls segments of the CDL skills test and allow the applicant to come back at a later date to retake the failed segment(s) only. After reviewing the application and the comments submitted to the docket, the Agency has determined the record does not show that granting the exemption would likely achieve a level of safety that is equivalent to, or greater than, the level that would be achieved absent the exemption.

View PDF