USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Entry-Level Driver Training: State of Alaska; Application for Exemption

Notice of final disposition; grant of application for exemption.

FMCSA announces its decision to grant a two-year exemption to the State of Alaska from the limitations imposed by the commercial driver's license (CDL) regulations on the State's ability to issue restricted CDLs. The exemption allows the State to waive specified portions of the CDL skills test for drivers in 14 defined geographical areas that lack infrastructure to allow completion of the full skills test. Drivers who receive a restricted CDL under the provisions of this exemption are also exempt from the Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) regulations. FMCSA concludes that granting the exemption, subject to the terms and conditions set forth below, is likely to achieve a level of safety equivalent to or greater than the level of safety that would be obtained absent the exemption.

View PDF