USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Commercial Driver's License Skills Testing: Application for Exemption; American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA)

Application for exemption; request for comments.

FMCSA announces that the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) requests a multi-year exemption to allow the State Driver Licensing Agencies (SDLAs) in Maryland, New Hampshire, and Virginia to continue using the revised Commercial Driver's License (CDL) pre-trip vehicle inspection and revised control skills test procedures, after current field tests being conducted as part of a pilot program under a waiver granted by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) have been completed. AAMVA states that the requested exemption would enable these States to continue operating under the pilot model without the burden of reverting to the older CDL test model requiring cost and delays associated with the re- configuration of testing locations and retraining of CDL test examiners. FMCSA requests public comment on the applicant's request for exemption.

View PDF