USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Inspection, Repair and Maintenance; Inspector Qualifications; Intermodal Association of North America (IANA) Application for an Exemption

Notice of final disposition.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) announces its decision to grant Intermodal Association of North America's (IANA) application for a limited 5-year exemption to allow individuals who complete a training program consistent with a set of Intermodal Recommended Practices (IRPs) and associated requirements that has been developed by IANA to be considered a qualified inspector or qualified brake inspector for intermodal equipment (IME) under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR), in lieu of having one year of training or experience or a combination thereof prior to becoming a certified inspector/brake inspector. The Agency has determined that granting the exemption to allow individuals who complete a performance-based training program consistent with the IRPs and associated requirements developed by IANA, instead of the time- based training and experience requirements specified in the FMCSRs, would likely achieve a level of safety equivalent to or greater than the level of safety provided by the regulation.

View PDF