USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Hours of Service of Drivers: Application for Exemption From the 14-Hour Rule During Independence Day Celebrations for Illumination Fireworks Partners, LP, and ACE Pyro, LLC

Notice of final disposition.

FMCSA announces its decision to grant Illumination Fireworks Partners, LP, and ACE Pyro, LLC (Applicants), an exemption from the requirements that drivers of commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) must not drive following the 14th hour after coming on duty. The exemption will apply solely to the drivers of 60 CMVs employed by the applicants in conjunction with staging fireworks shows in celebration of Independence Day during the period of June 28-July 8, for the next five years (2020- 2024) inclusive. During this period, the CMV drivers employed by the applicants would be allowed to exclude off-duty and sleeper-berth time of any length from the calculation of the 14 hours. These drivers will not be allowed to drive after accumulating a total of 14 hours of on- duty time, following 10 consecutive hours off duty, and will continue to be subject to the 11-hour driving-time limit, and the 60 and 70-hour on-duty limits. FMCSA has determined that the terms and conditions of the exemption will likely achieve a level of safety equivalent to, or greater than, the level of safety achieved without the exemption.

View PDF