USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Canadian Driver's License Reference Guide

In Canada, provincial/territorial licensing regulations are modeled on the guidelines set out in the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators (CCMTA) National Safety Code (NSC) that is supported by four standards. All Canadian licensed drivers must meet these requirements prior to being eligible to operate a commercial vehicle and are required to carry a driver’s license that is valid for the vehicle and conditions under which it is operated.

This guide will identify each of the 13 Canadian jurisdictions (10 provinces and three territories) and their driver licensing classification system. The content includes the driver license class, type of vehicle permitted to be operated and restriction/endorsement codes.

DISCLAIMER/CAUTION:  The “Canadian Driver’s License Reference Guide” is designed to be used as guidelines only. While the guidelines represent good practices, they may not conform exactly to current provincial/territorial regulations.  Inspectors are cautioned to always follow current regulations when determining what license information is required.

REVISED: April 1, 2021

DOT is committed to ensuring that information is available in appropriate alternative formats to meet the requirements of persons who have a disability. If you require an alternative version of files provided on this page, please contact
Last updated: Thursday, August 12, 2021