Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.

SSL

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on coronavirus.gov.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Rhode Island Emergency Waiver 03-30-2020 DMV Second Extension

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

 

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

ADMINISTRATION OFFICE

600 New London Avenue

Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-4368

www.dmv.ri.gov

 

 

SECOND EXPIRATION DATE

 

EXTENSIONS ORDER

On March 9, 2020. Governor Gina M. Raimondo issued Executive Order 20-02 declaring a state of emergency for the State of Rhode Island due to the dangers to health and life posed by COVID-19. Based on this declaration the Division of Motor Vehicles hereby exercises its authority, pursuant to R. I. Gen. Laws § 31-2-28, to extend the following expiration dates:
 

  • All Rhode Island driver's licenses, including commercial driver's licenses, permits. and identification cards set to expire between March I. 2020 and April 30, 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.
  • All Rhode Island registrations set to expire between March 1, 2020 and April 30. 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.
  • All Rhode Island special use identification tags issued by motor vehicle dealers (..20-day temporary plates'') between March I. 2020 and April 30. 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.
  • All Rhode Island 5-day temporary registration plates issued between March I. 2020 and April 30, 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.
  • Rhode Island residents who purchase a motor vehicle from Rhode Island motor vehicle dealers, out-of-state motor vehicle dealers, or private parties between March I. 2020 and April 30, 2020 shall have up to 90 days to register the vehicle if the purchaser's prior motor vehicle and the newly purchased motor vehicle are of the same type and the registration plates from the purchaser's prior motor vehicle will be transferred to the newly purchased motor vehicle.
  • All Rhode Island inspection certificates/stickers set to expire between March I, 2020 and April 30. 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.
  • All Rhode Island disability parking privilege placards set to expire between March I, 2020 and April 30. 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.
  • All Rhode Island motor vehicle inspection station and motor vehicle inspector permits set to expire between March I, 2020 and April 30, 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.
  • All Rhode Island window tint medical condition exemption certificates set to expire between March I, 2020 and April 30, 2020 shall now expire 90 days from their expiration date.

This Order hereby supersedes and replaces my March 17. 2020 Expiration Date Extensions Order.

By Order of:

 

Walter R. Craddock, Esq., CFP

Administrator

 

Date: March 30. 2020

Last updated: Friday, April 3, 2020