USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

FMCSA Announces Commercial Vehicle Driver Safety Training Grants

Monday, June 2, 2008

June 2, 2008

WASHINGTON - The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) today announced it has awarded a total of $1 million in grants to nine technical and community colleges to enhance classroom safety curriculums and behind-the-wheel training courses for students enrolled in commercial driver’s license (CDL) training programs.

"Our nation relies on a workforce of well-trained, safety conscious, professional truck and bus drivers to move our economy," said FMCSA Administrator John H. Hill. "Through this grant program, we are helping provide the cadre of highly qualified commercial drivers that our nation needs. This is also an investment in individuals and in communities seeking enriched economic opportunities for the future."

Eligible entities for the annually-awarded commercial motor vehicle (CMV) grants include accredited public and private institutions of higher education, federally recognized Native American Tribal Governments, and city, county and state governments.

The CMV Operator Training Grant Program, which was established by Congress in 2005 through the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act—A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU), has two goals: (1) to expand the number of CDL holders possessing enhanced operator safety training to help reduce the severity and number of crashes on U.S. roads involving commercial motor vehicles; and (2) to assist economically-distressed regions of the U.S. by providing workforce training opportunities for qualified individuals to become CMV operators.

The following institutions were awarded grants for fiscal year 2008:

Arizona    Maricopa Community CollegeGlendale$52,663
ArkansasArkansas State UniversityNewport$87,500
CaliforniaWest Hills Community CollegeCoalinga$80,640
IllinoisWaubonsee Community CollegeSugar Grove$49,855
MissouriOzarks Technical Community CollegeSpringfield$198,087
New YorkNational Tractor Trailer School, Inc.Liverpool$120,000
OhioCuyahoga Community CollegeCleveland$83,300
PennsylvaniaLehigh Carbon Community CollegeSchnecksville$127,955
South CarolinaOrangeburg-Calhoun Technical CollegeOrangeburg$200,000

An announcement regarding application procedures for fiscal year 2009 grants will be posted in late summer 2008 at

# # #