Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

High Priority Grant (HP) - Eligible Recipients and Award Selection

Eligible HP recipients include any State agency, local government (including county, city, township, special district, and Federally-recognized Native American tribal governments), institutions of higher education (public, private, and State-controlled), non-profit organizations with or without having a 501(c)(3) status with the Internal Revenue Service, for-profit entities (including small businesses), and other persons.  Other persons is defined as an entity not included above and may not be an individual, foreign entity, hospital, public/Indian housing authority, or Federal institution.

HP program applications must contain, as applicable, the components consistent with 49 CFR § 350.213. If a local (county, city, municipality, Federally-recognized Tribal) jurisdiction applies for an HP grant, the application must address the items in 49 CFR § 350.329 in order to qualify for funds.

All HP applications undergo a series of reviews prior to award selection as required in 2 CFR §§ 200.204 and 205.  These reviews include:

  1. Technical review;
  2. Suitability review;
  3. Past performance review; and
  4. Budget/cost analysis.

See MCSAP Comprehensive Policy (MCP) for additional information on the FMCSA discretionary application review and approval process.

Last updated: Wednesday, July 25, 2018