USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

New Entrant Online Training

Getting Started

Please allow approximately 60 minutes for completion of the course. It is best if you complete the course in one session in order to fully comprehend the materials and be able to understand how the information presented applies to your operation, however, you can return to the course at any point in time.

You can access the New Entrant Safety Assurance Program Modules here: 

Workers working together.

About the Training

The purpose of the New Entrant Safety Assurance (NESA) Program is to assists new carriers (New Entrants) in private and for-hire operations with regulatory compliance when applying for a U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) identification number, in order to initiate operations in interstate commerce. In an effort to assist new carriers this self-paced training has been developed and should be taken by all employees involved in the day-to-day transportation of freight or passengers on public highways. This course will consist of five modules presenting the essential elements of Commercial Motor Vehicle or CMV operational requirements under the NESA Program.

The first module identifies the roles in the commercial motor vehicle operations, describes the commercial motor vehicle compliance process, and describes the Compliance, Safety, and Accountability (CSA) Program.

The second module provides information to help new carriers identify classes and required endorsements for different types of commercial motor vehicles. The training lists driver qualifications and exceptions, and explains the Hours of Service Requirements and the documentation for driving commercial motor vehicles. The module finishes by describing the requirements for transporting hazardous materials in commercial motor vehicles.

In the third module, the training explains North American Standards for operating commercial motor vehicles.  The module goes on to identify the proper use of various safety equipment and identifies cargo securement equipment. Finally the training, describes how vehicle safety systems operate, and identifies the labeling, placarding, and shipping requirements for hazardous materials.

The fourth module lists the various alcohol and controlled substance tests, and describes the components of a fleet safety program. The training identifies the components of roadside inspections and explains the compliance review process.

The fifth and final module defines a safety audit, and describes the safety audit process. It lists the areas reviewed during a safety audit, and describes the safety audit results. The training finishes with identifying safety audit violations.

Last updated: Tuesday, May 31, 2022