USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners

COMING SOON – A Redesigned National Registry

On January 31, 2022, FMCSA will launch a redesigned National Registry.  As a result, the National Registry system will be unavailable from 9:00 p.m. EST on January 28, 2022, until 9:00 a.m. EST on January 31, 2022.  The National Registry will have a new look and feel but users will see the same functions as in the current National Registry system.  Users will still be required to access their National Registry account through  Please continue to visit the National Registry website as updates and new information regarding the launch will be provided.

Instructions to Become a Certified Medical Examiner (click here)

If you are interested in becoming a certified medical examiner, select the link above to learn about the requirements and process.

Instructions on How to Register as a MEAA (click here)

If you are interested in becoming a Medical Examiner’s Administrative Assistant (MEAA), select the link above to learn about how to register.

Instructions to Create a Account as a Certified Medical Examiner or Medical Examiner’s Administrative Assistant (click here)

All certified Medical Examiners and Medical Examiner’s Administrative Assistants will soon be required to migrate their National Registry account to

To login to the National Registry, please sign-in through

If you have already migrated your National Registry account, you should sign in through by selecting the link above.

Extension of Medical Examiner’s Certification Integration final rule (click here)

On June 21, 2018, FMCSA published an interim final rule that impacts certified medical examiners. To understand how; click the link above.

Medical Examiner’s Requirement to Upload Examination Results (click here)

FMCSA recognizes the challenge for medical examiners to upload daily and backlogged examinations based on the status of the National Registry. To learn more about reporting requirements at this time; click the link above

Resource Center

Once signed into your National Registry account you will once again have access to the National Registry Resource Center where you will find copies of the driver examination forms, regulations, and FAQs etc.

Searching for certified Medical Examiners, click here.

Last updated: Tuesday, January 25, 2022