USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Grants and Financial Assistance

About FMCSA Grant Opportunities

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) safety grant funding opportunities are primarily available to State and local government agencies in one of the 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the US Virgin Islands. Applicants for FMCSA funding opportunities should be working on commercial motor vehicle safety activities and should demonstrate a capacity to work with highway traffic safety stakeholders which may include, but are not limited to, State and local law enforcement agencies, State departments of public safety, departments of transportation, State traffic records coordinating committees, associations that focus on commercial motor vehicle safety and training issues, and other industry stakeholders.

FMCSA State and local government grantees often work in conjunction with for-profit and nonprofit organizations including public and private institutions of higher education, businesses and independent contractor consultants. Specific eligibility for each of the FMCSA safety grant funding opportunities is defined below.

FMCSA Grant Programs

Commercial Driver License (CDL) Program Implementation Grant

Eligible Applicants: The state agency designated as the primary driver licensing agency responsible for the development, implementation and maintenance of the CDL program or State agencies local governments, or other persons for high priority activities or emerging issues as identified by the Secretary of Transportation.

CMV Operator Safety Training Grant

Eligible Applicants: State or local governments; accredited post-secondary educational institutions (public or private) including colleges, universities, vocational / technical schools and truck-driver training schools. Primary funding priority is given to regional or multi-State educational or not-for-profit associations that recruit and train current and former members of the United States Armed Forces (including National Guard members and Reservists) and their spouses to receive training to transition to the CMV operation industry.

Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program (MCSAP) Grant

The Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program (MCSAP) is a Federal formula grant program that provides financial assistance to States, including the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands to reduce the number and severity of crashes and hazardous material incidents involving commercial motor vehicles (CMVs).  Specifically, only the State lead agency (as designated by the Governor) is eligible to apply for MCSAP grant funding.

High Priority (HP) Grant

High Priority is a Federal competitive grant program which provides financial assistance to States, local governments, federally recognized Indian tribes, other political jurisdictions as necessary, and other persons to carry out high priority activities and projects that augment motor carrier safety activities and projects:

  1. To carry out activities and projects that augment motor carrier safety;
  2. To advance the technological capability and promote the deployment of intelligent transportation system applications for CMV operations, including CMV, commercial driver, and carrier-specific information systems/networks; and to support and maintain CMV information systems and networks.

Last updated: Tuesday, September 27, 2022