USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Site Notification

Site Notification

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Motor Carrier Safety Assistance Program Grant - Eligibility

All States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, are eligible to apply for MCSAP grants.  For the purposes of MCSAP, State or States means all of the above mentioned jurisdictions. The MCSAP is FMCSA's largest grant program that supports State and local law enforcement agencies to utilize over 12,000 enforcement officers to increase enforcement and safety activities nationwide.

The MCSAP grants are provided annually to the State’s MCSAP lead agency.  A MCSAP lead agency is designated by the Governor as the State motor vehicle safety agency responsible for administering the Commercial Vehicle Safety Plan (CVSP) within the State.  The CVSP is also referred to as the “Plan” and serves as the MCSAP grant project plan and budget.

States must certify that they meet the conditions found at 49 CFR § 350.201.

Last updated: Thursday, February 13, 2014