
Information Sheet for the Public:  State-by-state Instructions for Submitting  Medical Certificates to the State Driver Licensing Agencies 

Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Alabama

YES
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency

Driver License Division, CDL Unit
P.O. Box 1471,

 Montgomery, Al 36102-1471

YES
334-353-1980

YES 
cdlmedical.merger@alea.gov

We accept pdf,jpeg,tiff formats CDL cancellation;  to reclaim cdl must provide current medical 
cert/card.

Jeannie Eastman 334-242-4777 cdlmedicalmerger@dps.alabama.
gov

Alaska
1300 W. Benson Blvd, Suite 100

Anchorage, AK 99503 907-269-3774 doa.dmv.ads@alaska.gov
If email, pdf format only, please include a good contact 

number in your email. Commercial driving privileges will be cancelled for failure to comply. Lauren Whiteside 907-269-3770 lauren.whiteside@alaska.gov

Arizona
Medical Review Program MD818Z

PO Box 2100
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100

623-925-9323

Secure email found under 
"Contact Medical Review" at: 

http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/Me
dicalReview/MedicalReviewProg

ram.asp  

Walk-ins customers can bring cert cards directly to: 
Medical Review Program

1452 N. Eliseo C. Felix Jr. Way
Avondale, AZ 85323

(they may also walk it into any AZ Motor Vehicle Office to 
be forwarded to Medical Review Program)

CDL privileges become suspended & revoked Medical Review Program 602-771-2460 MedicalReview@azdot.gov

Arkansas

Department of Finance of 
Administration Attn: CDL Helpdesk 

PO Box 1272
Little Rock, AR, 72203

501-683-3530 Richelle.jones@dfa.arkansas.go
v

In Person at the 135 Arkansas Revenue Offices

Per federal regulations CFR 383, 384, 390 and 391, status will be 
changed to not certified. Sixty (60) days later downgrade process 

implemented and driver loses all CDL privileges. Twelve months after 
the downgrade, the driver will be required to retest to obtain a CDL 

license.

Richelle Jones 501-682-1400 CDL.helpdesk@dfa.arkansas.gov

California

Department of Motor Vehicles      
CDL Unit M/S G204                                       

P.O. Box 944278                    
Sacramento, CA. 94244-2780

The driving privilege reverts to non commercial status. The driving 
record is marked "Not valid for commercial operation" until a valid 

medical is updated.
CDL Helpdesk

916-657-5771 
or 916-657-

5772

Colorado

YES
Colorado Department of  Revenue                                                   

Attn: CDL Unit                                         
1881 Pierce St.                            

Lakewood CO 80214

YES   
303-205-5709

YES                                           
dor_cdlunit@state.co.us  Online at:                       https://mydmv.colorado.gov/_/#2

10th day of an expired medical, med cert status is changed to NOT, a 
letter is generated and mailed to the individual.  23 days later if still 

no compliance, there will be a cancellation of entire driving 
privileges.  Compliance only by means of a new DOT or a downgrade 
to a regular license.  No reinstatement fee.  No re-qualifying unless 

over 1 year on either a cancellation or downgrade.

1.  DOT Medical Desk
2.  Shawn Kizzar

1. 303-205-5843
2. 303-205-5983
3. 303-205-5829 

dor_cdlunit@state.co.us

Connecticut NO    860-263-5568 YES                             
dmv.cdl@ct.gov

N/A Disqualify until compliance Susan Archambault 860-263-5726 susan.archambault@ct.gov

Delaware

YES
Delaware DMV 

Attn: CDL Department  
PO BOX 698  

Dover, DE  19903

YES
302 -739-2602

NO N/A
Deny commercial privileges and change class of license to a Class D.  

If no valid med cert on file for 1 year, driver must complete all 
testing to get commercial privileges back.  (eye, written, and road)

Delaware Help Desk 877-477-7117 N/A

District of 
Columbia

YES
1205 Brentwood Rd. NE   
Washington, DC 20018

YES
202 - 576-9217

YES
dmvcdl@dc.gov

Submit online at http://dmv.dc.gov/page/whats-new-cdl  Disqualify until compliance

CDL Office                                                   
Calvin Dyson              

Natasha Green            
Joana Cruz

202-576-8280 
or 

202-576-8283
dmvcdl@dc.gov
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Updated January 2019
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Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Florida NO NO NO
Submit online at 

http://flhsmv.gov/ddl/cdlmedicalcert.html or in person at 
any Florida Driver License Issuance Office

Disqualified from CMV operation.  CDL must be surrendered for non-
commercial (Class E) license until medical certification updated or 

self-certification changed to excepted category.
CDL Helpdesk 850-617-2606 NA

Georgia

YES
Department of Driver Services

Attn: RM-CDL 
P.O. Box 80447 

Conyers, GA 30113

YES  770-918-6271 
Not at this time - are 

considering this as a future 
possibility

Self Certification forms must be submitted in person.

Medical status changed to 'not certified'  until new medical 
certifications and applicable variances are provided.  Driver may be 

required to re-test if they remain in downgraded class for a long 
period of time.

Kathy Harvey 478-751-4190 kharvey@dds.ga.gov

Hawaii
YES 

601 Kamokila BLVD., #511 
Kapolei,HI 96707

YES 
808-692-7665

YES 
driverrecords.hwyv@hawaii.gov

If a Motor Carrier submits their driver's med certs in 
batches, MC needs to include cover page with company 

name and phone number or annotate MC name and 
phone number on each form.  

Per State procedures, failure to provide an updated MEC within 53 
days of the MEC expiration date will result in an immediate 

downgrade to a class 3 (non-CDL) license.  Will reinstate CDL status 
when current med cert copy is submitted and, if downgrade was 

completed, upon payment of a reinstatement fee (varies by County).

HI CDL Help Desk 808-692-7659 driverrecords.hwyv@hawaii.gov

Idaho

YES

Idaho Transportation Department 
PO Box 7129 

Boise ID  83707-1129

YES

(208) 334-8586

YES- medical cards can be e-
mailed to:  dlmail@itd.idaho.gov 

Only the wallet card is required- 
not the long form medical 

examiner’s report

Idaho’s self-certification process can be completed 
quickly and easily online at 

https://dmvapps.itd.idaho.gov/cdlselfcertification

Drivers who are required to submit a medical card to ITD 
may submit the card via FAX, E-mail, US Mail, or may take 

the card to any County Driver’s License office to be 
scanned.

Commercial drivers who fail to self-certify, and if required, submit a 
medical card to ITD on or before January 30, 2014 will have their 
Commercial Driver’s privilege removed from their driver’s license.  

Drivers must also keep a copy of their medical card current with ITD 
to maintain commercial driving privileges after the January 30, 2014 

deadline.

CDL Helpdesk 208-334-8739 CDLhelpdesk@itd.idaho.gov

Illinois

All drivers must initially appear at one 
of our 47 CDL Facilities to Declare the 
type of driving they intend to operate. 
If they choose NI, they must provide a 
current Medical Examiner’s Certificate 

to be loaded to their Illinois driving 
record. If they choose EI, NA or EA, 

they must sign the declaration which 
is loaded to their Illinois driving 

record. After the original declaration, 
we will accept Medical Examiner’s 

Certificates mailed  to:
Secretary of State’s Office 

Attn:  CDL/Medical Card Unit 
2701 South Dirksen Parkway 

Springfield, Il 62723

After the driver’s 
original declaration, 

renewed Medical 
Examiner’s 

Certificates may be 
faxed to:

(217) 558-5156

After the driver’s original 
declaration, renewed Medical 
Examiner’s Certificates may be 

emailed to: 
cdlmedicalcard@ilsos.net

Emailed Medical Examiner’s Certificates must be a 
scanned or an attached PDF document. An email 

containing only Medical Examiner’s Certificate 
information will not be accepted. 

The driver’s CDL privileges will be cancelled.  CDL privileges will be 
reinstated upon receipt and approval of an updated Medical 

Examiner’s Certificate.  There is no fee and no examinations required 
for reinstatement.

Tracy Wilhour
Tray Wilhour
217-557-5390

twilhour@ilsos.net

mailto:kharvey@dds.ga.gov
mailto:CDLhelpdesk@itd.idaho.gov


Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Indiana
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle, 100 
N Senate Ave, N481, Indianapolis, IN 

46204
317-974-1613 No

CDL holder must send all pages of the Medical 
Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness 
Determination along with the Medical Examiner's 

Certificate.

Indiana CLP/CDL holder must maintain on file a valid medal 
examination/medical examiner's certificate. When the medical 

examiner's certificate expires, the medical status will change from  
certified to not-certified. After 30 days the CLP/CDL will be 

disqualified and downgraded to the driver's base line license.  If the 
CDL is revoked, invalid, suspended, disqualified or expired longer 

than 1 year, then the CDL applicant is required to retest (start over). 

Indiana Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles 888-692-6841

Iowa

IA DOT, Driver and Identification 
Services

PO Box 9204
Des Moines IA 50306-9204

515-239-1837 CDLMedCert@dot.iowa.gov e-mail scan must be pdf format

CDLIS driver history record will be changed immediately to not 
certified and a downgrade to a non-commercial status will be 

effective in 60 days.  The driver may end or prevent a downgrade by 
providing the appropriate documentation.   

Kelly Queener 515-244-9124 CDLMedCert@iowadot.us

Kansas

Driver Licensing
Docking State Office Building

ATTN:  Medical Cert
P.O. Box 2188

Topeka, KS 66601-2128

YES
785- 296-5859

or
785-296-0691
Attn:  Medical 
Certification

YES
medical.certification@kdor.ks.g

ov 

Drivers can also complete form online at
https://www.kdor.org/dl/KCDLCertificate.aspx .  

Medical card can be attached online or as an email 
attachment if it is in PDF format

Decertification at time of medical card expiration.  If a driver fails to 
re-certify within 60 days they will be downgraded to a con-

commercial license.  Full testing required to obtain CDL after 1 year 
from downgrade.

Kent Selk 785-296-2013 kent.selk@kdor.ks.gov

Kentucky

Kentucky Transportation 
Cabinet/Drivers Licensing  200 Mero 

St. 
Frankfort, KY 40622

NO NO Submit medical certifications, self-certifications, and 
commercial applications to web portal at MyCDL.Ky.Gov

<1 yr=none, >1 yr= retest written & vision >5 =start over Customer Service Center 502-564-1257 kytc.ddlwebservices@ky.gov

Louisiana
P.O. Box 64886

Baton Rouge, LA 70896 225-925-3901 OMV_CDL_Medical@dps.la.gov PDF format is acceptable
Depends on how long the driver goes without CDL privileges.  Over 1 
year will result in retesting all written tests.  Over 2 years will result 

in retesting all written and skills tests.
CDL Help Desk 225-925-7727 paige.paxton@la.gov

Maine

YES
Bureau of Motor Vehicles

CDL Compliance Unit
29 State House Station

Augusta, ME  04333-0029

YES
207-624-9339

YES
cdlcompliance.BMV@maine.gov
(must be a scanned Word doc or 

PDF)

Customer can hand carry into any branch or mobile unit 
location.

Disqualified from non-excepted interstate operation and 
downgraded to an excepted status.  On January 30, 2014, all CDL 

holders who are non-compliant will be downgraded to a non-
commercial drivers license. 

CDL Compliance Unit 207-624-9000 
ext 52126 cdlcompliance.BMV@maine.gov

Maryland

YES
Maryland MVA

ATTN:  CDL MedCert
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE, Room 145

Glen Burnie, MD 21062

YES
410-787-7959

YES
CDLMedCert@mva.md.gov

Scanned copy of originals Customer must downgrade to a noncommercial license or their 
entire driving privilege will be cancelled.

CDL Helpdesk 410-424-3777 CDLMedCert@mva.maryland.gov

mailto:CDLMedCert@iowadot.us
mailto:kent.selk@kdor.ks.gov
mailto:OMV_CDL_Medical@dps.la.gov
mailto:paige.paxton@la.gov
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Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Massachusetts

YES
Mass DOT, RMV Division

Driver Licensing Division - CDL
P.O. Box 55889

Boston, MA 02205

YES 857-368-0818 NO

The RMV accepts medical certificates in branch offices.  
An on-line application is also available.  Drivers are 

encouraged to use the RMV website for this transaction 
listed under "Other" on Online Transactions at 

www.massrmv.com.  Mailed, in-person or faxed medical 
certificates must be accompanied by a completed CDL 
Self-Certification Form which is available on the RMV 

website.

Drivers who fail to comply will be disqualified from operating a CMV.  
If updated information is not received, the CDL will be downgraded 
to a Class D license within 60 days.  Failure to restore the CDL within 

12 months will require retesting.

Driver Licensing Division 857-368-8110 www.massrmv.com/feedback.aspx

Minnesota
Driver and Vehicle Services Division 

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 180            
St. Paul, MN 55101-5175

 YES                                                   
(651) 297-4447

NO

Medical Certificates are not accepted via email. The 
medical certificate and self-certification form can be 

faxed, sent via mail or updated in person at any driver 
exam station or driver's license application office. 

Downgrade of license class to non-commerical. New medical 
certificate and self-certification required within one year of 

downgrade to restore CDL privileges.
CDL Help Desk 651-297-5029 dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Mississippi will not accept mailed in, 
faxed in or e-mailed in copies of 
medical card.   Must be submitted in 
person or by web portal at  
https://www.ms.gov/dps/cdl_medcar
d/ 

Mississippi will not 
accept mailed in, 
faxed in or e-mailed 
in copies of medical 
card.  Must be 
submitted in person 
or by web portal at  
https://www.ms.go
v/dps/cdl_medcard
/ 

Mississippi will not accept 
mailed in, faxed in or e-mailed in 
copies of medical card.   Must 
be submitted in person or by 
web portal at  
https://www.ms.gov/dps/cdl_m
edcard/ 

Only accept Original Medical card no long forms. Will 
accept Medical Cards that are valid.

Drivers Failure to keep medical certificate current.

a. Letter mailed to driver 30 days prior to expiration advising them 
that their medical certification will expire and they have until 
expiration to update record with new medical certification. One day 
after expiration their CDL status will show “Not Medically Certified” 
and downgrade (remove all CDL privileges) will follow.

Primary:   Lin Easterling
Back up:   MSgt. Ray 
Steed

601-987-1367                        
601-987-1334              

leasterling@dps.ms.gov
rsteed@dps.ms.gov

Missouri NO NO NO N/A

Driver is currently issued a citation under 307.400 RSMo. If the 
Department is notified, proof of DOT medical is requested and if not 
provided the driver will be downgraded. Also, if driver fraudulently 

self certifies during the application process they are administratively 
denied for one year.

Public Service Operators 573-751-1887 dlbmail@dor.mo.gov

JoLynn Peck
CDL Help Desk Supervisor 517-322-5555 peckj3@michigan.govMichigan

YES 
MI Department of State 

CDL Help Desk 
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918

YES 
(517) 636-4359

Medical certificates are not 
accepted via email, however, 

customers may self certify, scan 
and submit Medical Certificates 

via the web.

Medical Certificates are not accepted via email, however, 
customers may self certify, scan and submit Medical 

Certificates via the web at the link below:
https://services.sos.state.mi.us/CDLIS/Pages/login.aspx  

As of January 30, 2014, loss of CDL privileges

http://www.massrmv.com/feedback.aspx
mailto:rsteed@dps.ms.gov
mailto:rsteed@dps.ms.gov
mailto:dlbmail@dor.mo.gov


Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Montana
DOJ/MVD CDL Helpdesk PO Box 

201430                 Helena, MT 59620
YES      406-444-

1987 cdlhelpdesk@mt.gov

As of January 30, 2014 all commercial drivers who hold a 
CDL in Montana needed to  have Self-Certified to their 
type operation of a CMV, and submitted a valid copy of 

their Medcical Examiner's Certificate (MEC).  If the 
Montana motor vehicle division did not receive these 

documents, the driver's licensing status would have been 
downgraded from "Commercial" to "Non-Commercial" 

status.  If a commercial driver exclusively operates a CMV 
under one of the "Excepted" statuses, and they have 

have self-certified as "Excepted Interstate", a MEC does 
not have to be submitted. 

All Intrastate and Non-Excepted Interstate CDL holders in Montana 
must keep a valid and current Medical Examiner's Certificate (MEC) 

with the Motor Vehicle Division.  If a Commercial driver does not 
submit a new MEC on or before expiration date of their expiring 

MEC, their medical status will be changed to “Non-Certified” AND 
their CDL will be downgraded to “Non-Commercial”.  This action will 

be taken within 10-days of the MEC expiration date and the driver 
will no longer be valid to operate a commercial motor vehicle.  The 
department may reinstate a CDL that has been downgraded under 
this law if, within the original term of the downgraded license, the 

person: 
o Submits a current Med Cert; or

o Certifies to a change in operation status to “Excepted” Interstate.

CDL Helpdesk  
Patrick McJannet                               

Beverly Pellen

406-444-3244                 
406-444-2001
406-444-2819

cdlhelpdesk@mt.gov    
pmcjannet@mt.gov   

bpellen@mt.gov

Nebraska

Yes
Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver Licensing Services
P.O. Box 94726

Lincoln, NE  68509

Yes
(402) 471-3157

Yes
dmv.exam-

medcert@nebraska.gov
N/A

If driver fails to complete the downgrade process, the CDL will be 
cancelled.  If cancelled for med cert and send updated self-

certification and/or medical card within 1 year, no testing required. 
If over 1 year, all testing required.

Driver Licensing Services 402 - 471-3861
dmv.exam-

medcert@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Any Nevada DMV can accept & 
update CDL physicals.  The primary 

offices are: 
4110 Donovan Way

NLV NV  89030

Donovan 702-486-
5625

Carson City 775-684-
4829

Not a preferred method. N/A CDL is cancelled and a reinstatement fee must be paid
Shawanna Washington

Kathryn Hamlin

702-486-5655
 

775-688-2535
Info@dmv.nv.gov

New Hampshire

YES,                                                                                         
NH-DMV/DRIVER LICENSING BUREAU                            

23 HAZEN DR., CONCORD NH                                       
03305

NO NHCDLMEDCARDS@DOS.NH.GO
V  

PDF format only Commercial driving privileges will be cancelled for failure to comply. Jeff Oberdank 603-227-4020 Jeffrey.Oberdank@dos.nh.gov  

New Jersey

NJMVC CDL UNIT
P.O. Box 685

Trenton, NJ  08666 FAX:  609-984-1245 No
New Jersey drivers can walk into any MVC agency if they 

choose to.  

Driver will be Decertified 10 days after Med Cert Expires. Will not be 
able to renew without new cert. Notice will be sent to driver once 
decertified, they will have 30 days after letter to provide new med 
cert.   If not received, driver will be downgraded to a basic license.

Lori Sannella
609-292-7500 

ext 5077 Lori.Sannella@mvc.nj.gov

New Mexico
2546 Camino Entrada
Santa Fe, NM87507 1-505-476-1578

YES
NMCDL.HelpDesk@state.nm.us  NM will downgrade the Driver's CDL Driving Privileges

Yvette Facteau
Vickie Evans

505-476-1588
505-476-1581

Yvette.Facteau@state.nm.us 
Vickie.Evans@state.nm.us 

mailto:cdlhelpdesk@mt.gov
mailto:bpellen@mt.gov
mailto:bpellen@mt.gov
mailto:bpellen@mt.gov
mailto:bpellen@mt.gov
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mailto:NHCDLMEDCARDS@DOS.NH.GOV
mailto:NHCDLMEDCARDS@DOS.NH.GOV
mailto:Jeffrey.Oberdank@dos.nh.gov
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Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

New York

YES
Medical Certification Unit 

NYS Department of Motor Vehicles 
PO Box 2601 

Albany NY  12220-0601

YES
518-486-4421
518-486-3260

YES 
Dmv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv

.ny.gov  

 New York CDL holders should not take their updated 
medical certificates into a DMV Issuing Office UNLESS 

they are also performing a license transaction (such as a 
renewal).  Medical certificates should be submitted by 
mail, fax or e-mail directly to the Medical Certification 

Central Office. Drivers should review their medical 
certificates for accuracy, legibility and completeness prior 

to submission.  Incorrect, illegible or incomplete 
documents will be rejected. When submitting a medical 

certificate to the Medical Certification Unit by mail, fax or 
e-mail, CDL holders should be sure to include current 

contact information (phone number or e-mail address) 
with their document.

" CDL holders that fail to keep their medical certificate current 
become medically “not certified” when the medical certificate on file 

expires.  A letter is sent to the driver advising them that they are 
“not certified” and that their CDL license will be downgraded in 55 

days unless they submit an acceptable medical certificate to the CDL 
Med Cert Unit. If acceptable proof of medical certification is not 

received and processed within 55 days, the CDL is downgraded to a 
non-CDL license on the 56th day. Drivers have until the expiration 

date of their driver’s license, and up to two years past the expiration 
date, to be recertified and obtain their CDL again without having to 
be retested.  Two years past the expiration date of the CDL, all tests 

(knowledge and skills) must be retaken. CDL holders that submit 
fraudulent medical documents to the Medical Certification Unit will 

have their CDL license revoked for one year. 

Medical Certification Unit

 518-474-3603
M-F 9:00-1:00 

EST mv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv.ny.go

North Carolina

YES – Data Capture Imaging Unit 3126 
Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-

3126
3126 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3126

YES
919-861-3599

YES
E-mail address:  

CDLmedical@ncdot.gov

Hand deliver form to local NCDMV Office; office locations 
and hours on website: www.ncdot.gov/dmv

Downgrade to non-CDL; Re-application only Customer Service Center 919-861-3599 cdlmedical@ncdot.gov

North Dakota

YES
Drivers License Division

608 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND  58505-0750

YES
701-328-0308

Yes - 
dotfaxdlmedicalcerts@nd.gov If e-mailing submit as PDF.

Immediate downgrade to non-CDL.  Re-application if 1 year or less; if 
more than 1 year, applicant must start over. Casandra Aufenthie 701-328-4355 cjaufenthie@nd.gov

Ohio

Ohio BMV 
CDL/Out of State Processing 

P.O. Box 16784                              
Columbus, OH 43216-6784

(614)308-5181 
Please include a 
cover page with 

name, address and 
telephone number

CDL@dps.state.oh.us If emailing Medical Certificate, we prefer PDF format. Driver must self-certify in another category (2,3 or 4) or be 
downgraded to an operators license.

Marcia L. Fisher, Assistant 
Chief, Driver License 
Suspension Section           
Amber-Lynn Daniels                

Customer Service 
Manager 

855-240-8844 CDL@dps.state.oh.us

Oklahoma

YES
Oklahoma Dept of Public Safety

CDL Administration
PO BOX 11415 
OKC,OK 73136

YES
405-419-2196

YES
mec@dps.state.ok.us   Downgrade,   reinstate CDL with proof of new med cert. Tamara Shepherd 405-425-2015 tshepher@dps.state.ok.us

Oregon
DMV Driver Safety, CDL Medical 
Certification, 1905 Lana Ave NE, 

Salem, OR 97314
503-945-5329 DSMEC@odot.state.or.us

If emailing medical certificate, jpg, pdf and embedded 
Word document are acceptable

CDLIS medical certification changed to "N" if NI.  CDL cancellation 
notice sent effective 30 days later.  Cancelled until downgrade or 

new certification.  Once downgraded the customer has the option to 
regain the CDL without retesting for up to 3 years.

Customer Assistance 503-945-5000
https://www.oregondmv.com/SS

L/contactdmv/driver.htm

mailto:dmv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv.ny.gov
mailto:dmv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv.ny.gov
mailto:dmv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv.ny.gov
mailto:dmv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv.ny.gov
mailto:tracey.wheaton@dmv.ny.gov
mailto:cjaufenthie@nd.gov
mailto:CDL@dps.state.oh.us
mailto:tshepher@dps.state.ok.us
mailto:DSMEC@odot.state.or.us


Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Pennsylvania

PA Department of Transportation 
Bureau of Driver Licensing        

P.O. Box 68678                     
 Harrisburg, PA  17106-8678

717-783-5429 CDLmedscert@pa.gov N/A

Driver's who do not update their Medical Examiner's Certificate prior 
to the current certificate's expiration date will have the commercial 
 designation removed from their driver's license.  In order to avoid 

the immediate removal of the commercial designation on the 
driver's      license, a driver would need to update their self-

certification to one of the "excepted" categories.  However, making 
this change to their driving record will automatically disqualify them 
from operating in any form of transportation that requires a Medical 

Examiner's Certificate. 

PennDOT will have 
specialized Customer 

Service Representatives 
available at our Call 

Center, Monday through 
Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 

p.m.  

1-877-726-8824 www.dmv.state.pa.us

Rhode Island No No N/A None Downgrade of CDL the day after medical certificate 
expiration CDL unit

      401-462-
5813

http://www.dmv.ri.gov/feedback
/index.php

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Motor 
Vehicles        

CDL Help Desk                                                                          
PO Box 1498                                                                               

Blythewood, SC 29016

803-896-2676 cdlhelpdesk@scdmv.net PDF
To regain the commercial designation once it has been removed, 
drivers will be required to apply for a commercial learner's permit 

and complete all required knowledge and skills testing.
CDL Help Desk 803-896-2673 cdlhelpdesk@scdmv.net

South Dakota

YES
Driver Licensing

118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501

YES
605-773-3018

YES
DPSCDLMedCert@state.sd.us  None

Downgrade, but no re-test.  When driver provides a new medical,  
good to go.  unless they’ve been downgraded over a year, then they 

have to re-test on both the written and skills tests. 
Customer Service Section 605-773-6883 DPSCDLMedcert@state.sd.us

Tennessee

TN Dept. of Safety and Homeland 
Security

Commercial Driver License Division
1148 Foster Ave

Nashville, TN, 37243

615-401-7674 DI.CDL.Medcert@tn.gov 
The driver needs to provide self-certification affidavit 
provided by TDOS and the medical card.  If email .pdf 

only
Downgrade to non-CDL, re-application only CDL Helpdesk 615-687-2312 DI.CDL.Medcert@tn.gov

click on "Contact Us" along the left side of 
the page

mailto:CDLmedscert@pa.gov
http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/
http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/
http://www.dmv.ri.gov/feedback/index.php
http://www.dmv.ri.gov/feedback/index.php
mailto:cdlhelpdesk@scdmv.net
mailto:cdlhelpdesk@scdmv.net
mailto:DPSCDLMedcert@state.sd.us
mailto:DI.CDL.Medcert@tn.gov


Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Texas

Texas Department of Public Safety
Enforcement & Compliance Service / 

Attention: CDL Section-Med Cert
P.O. Box 4087                                                                   

Austin, TX 78773

512-424-2002 CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov If emailing Medical Certificate, we prefer PDF format.

Driver is downgraded to a "driver license" (DL). Driver may re-
establish the CDL by visiting a Driver License office, certify to a 

medical status and provide a valid MEC/Variance (if applicable). 
Texas will waive the written and drivng exams provided the DL has 
not expired. If the DL has expired the driver will be required to take 

and pass all CDL written/driving exams. The driver will also be  
required to pay the associated fee to upgrade the CDL.

CDL Help Desk 512/424-2600 CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov

Utah
Driver License Division                      

PO Box 144501 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501

 801-957-8633 dlmedcert@utah.gov PDF format for email.
The driver does not comply within 45 days following the expiration 

date of DOT card their license will be disqualified for failure to 
downgrade.

Utah Customer Service 
Section

801 965-4437 or 
888-353-4224 

http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/
contact.html

Vermont
DMV CDL office
120 State Street

Montpelier VT 05603

YES so long as they 
are legible 

802-828-5548

if scanned with physician 
signature medcert@state.vt.us 

suspension and or downgrade to class D operator's license DMV 802-828-2085 dmv.medcert@vermont.gov

Virginia

Virginia Department of Motor 
Vehicles

CDL/NDR Work Center, Rm. 420
P.O. Box 27412

Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001

YES                                                                        
804-367-6692

Submit electronically                                                                           
https://transfer.dmv.virginia.go

v  Username: cdldriver  
Password: dmv123

Uploaded document must be in a  .pdf, .jpeg, .doc or 
.doc* format

Status will be changed to not certified and if driver does not comply 
then (30) days later the CDL will be canceled and driver will be 

downgraded to a DRL.
 CDL/NDR Work Center 804-497-7100 dlworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov

Washington
Yes.  CDL Medical Unit, P.O. Box 9030, 

Olympia, WA 98507-9030 Yes.  360-570-4915 
Yes, forms only.  

CDLMED@DOL.WA.GOV

First time self-certifying, driver must bring in medical 
certificate to a service counter.  All future medical 

certificate updates may use other options (i.e. mail, fax, 
email) 

Downgraded.  45 days prior to expiration date the driver is sent a 
letter outlining the options to submit a new medical certificate.  At 

12:01am on the day of expiration the drivers license is automatically 
downgraded.  

DOL Customer Service 
Center 360-902-3900 drivers@dol.wa.gov

West Virginia

YES
Driver Licensing
P. O. Box 17010

5707 MacCorkle Av  SE

YES
304-926-3890

Submit electronically                                                                           
DMVLicenseIssuance@wv.gov NA

Downgrade, but no re-test if new certification is received within.  
three (3) years of initial downgrade

Mike May                                                                          
CDL/Driver Licensing 304-926-0761 Mike.A.May@wv.gov

Wisconsin

YES
Wisconsin DMV/BDS

PO Box 7995
Madison, WI 53707-7995

YES
608-261-8201

YES
dre.dmv@dot.wi.gov 

Any medical certificate sent into the department should 
have the driver's name and contact information included 
(like a phone number or email address) in case we have 

any questions.  Incomplete or illegible certificates may be 
delayed in being entered on the record. Although we 

accept certificates by mail/fax/email, we would 
recommend that drivers use a new web application.  

They can sign into the application from 
www.wisconsincdl.gov. This application can be used to 

self certify and to upload a medical certificate.  
Certificates that are uploaded have to be in JPG, GIF, 

PNG, or PDF file types only and can't be over 5 MB. Any 
medical certificate that is emailed to the department will 
have to use the same file type and size restrictions used 
in the web application (JPG, GIF, PNG, or PDF file types 

only and can't be over 5 MB).

Driver would have to change their self certification to something 
other than Non-excepted interstate or provide an updated medical 
certificate to the department.  Once the updates are made on the 

record, the CDL will be put back to a valid status.  No tests are 
required.

Wisconsin DMV 608-264-7049 dre.dmv@dot.wi.gov

mailto:CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov
mailto:CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov
mailto:dlmedcert@utah.gov
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/contact.html
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/contact.html
mailto:medcert@state.vt.us
mailto:dlworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov
mailto:drivers@dol.wa.gov
mailto:Mike.A.May@wv.gov
mailto:dre.dmv@dot.wi.gov


Does the State: Accept Mailed-in Med Cert?  If YES, 
mailing address

Accept Faxed Med 
Cert?  If YES, fax 

number

Accept Email Med Cert?  If YES, 
e-mail address

Other Instructions/Comments;  e.g. Start Over?  Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification 
current 

Name of Public Point of 
Contact 

Phone Number 
of Public Point 

of Contact

Email Address of Public Point of 
Contact

Wyoming
YES

5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY  82009

YES
307-777-3800 YES:   CDL@wyo.gov Cancelled, must reapply CDL Helpdesk 307-777-3836 cdl@wyo.gov

mailto:cdl@wyo.gov

	Sheet1

