Introduction

Motor carriers, do you have drivers licensed in a State that has an Employer Notification Service (ENS)? An ENS is a program that automatically sends updates to the requestor when a driver's license status changes, there is a crash, and-or a conviction is posted to the driver's record. The use of these services, in particular those with "push" notifications, satisfies the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's (FMCSA) requirement for a motor carrier to make an inquiry into each driver's record. As of today, there are 16 States, identified with a red asterisk (*) in the chart below, that have an ENS system.

Other jurisdictions have programs that provide easy, periodic access to driving records, but do not automatically send updates (or "push" notifications) on a driver's license status. A motor carrier using these systems must still check the driving record annually as required by 391.25. FMCSA has pulled together information on these jurisdictions for your convenience. The list below provides summary information on the ENS, or other system, that each of these 18 States use.

The FMCSA will continue to update the below list as new information is received, so please check back periodically for updates.

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
* Arkansas	Driver Watch	Driver Watch is a tool that allows motor carriers to monitor the validity of any commercial driver's license issued in Arkansas. Through bi-monthly, monthly, quarterly or semi-annual driver status checks, Driver Watch monitors drivers listed in the Driver Watch List and makes the results available online, through Driver Watch and/or email, when needed.	Contact Driver Watch	 Base fee – \$13.00 Annual Fee – \$95.00 	State
* California	CA Employer Pull Notice (EPN)	The State of California requires certain employers of drivers to participate in the State's EPN program The EPN Program automatically generates driver records when any of the following actions/activities occur: 1. Upon enrollment of the driver in the EPN program 2. Annually from the date of enrollment or 12 months from the last action/activity printout 3. When a driver has any of the following actions or activities added to his or her driving record: convictions, failures to appear, accidents, suspension, revocations, and any other	Contact EPN	 Enrollment fee – \$5.00 Electronic Driver Record Fee – \$1.00 per copy Paper Driver Record Fee – \$3.00 per copy 	State

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
		actions taken against the driving privilege.			
* District of Columbia	Driver Record Online Portal	The Driver Record Online Portal is an online portal that provides employers and regulatory agencies with a means of promoting driver safety through the ongoing review of an employee's driver records. Driver records for employees can be customized to be generated at various intervals.	Phone: 202-737-4404 Email: dmv@dc.gov	 Driver Record: 3-year and 5-year history – \$7.00 Driver Record: 10-year and full history - \$13.00 	State

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
* Idaho	Driver Record Dashboard	With the Driver Record Dashboard, users can build a list of Idaho driver licenses to monitor for changes, purchase driver's license records at any time, individually or in bulk, receive email alerts for flagged driver's license record, view medical certification information, and view driver's license and commercial driver's license expiration dates. Idaho driver records are checked automatically twice a month for any new conviction and/or suspension, and are flagged.	Phone: 208-334-8736 Email: ITDDriverRecords@itd.ida ho.gov	 Service access fee – \$10.00 per month License monitoring fee – \$0.14 twice a month. Automatic driver's license record pull following a conviction and/or suspension fee – \$9.00 Manual driver's license record pull fee – \$9.00 Annual Fee – \$95.00 	State
* Louisiana	Monitoring of Vehicle and Employer Status (MOVES)	MOVES offers driver monitoring and notifications for trucking companies through emails and/or text alerts, and motor carriers have the option of choose what they would like to be alerted on. Driving records are checked daily and, when there is a change to a drivers record, the motor carrier is alerted immediately.	Envoc 10000 Perkins Rowe, Suite 220 Baton Rouge, LA 70810 Phone: (225) 910-8250	There are four (4) monitoring programs: 1. Small for \$199 setup, \$3.00 per driver per month for up to 49 drivers, 2. Medium for \$199 setup, \$2.50 per driver per month for up to 99 drivers, 3. Large for \$199 setup, \$2.50 per driver per month for up to 149 drivers, and 4. Enterprise for \$399 setup, \$2.00 per driver per month for up to 150+ drivers.	Third Party

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
Maine	Driver Record Check	This online service allows access to State of Maine driving records retrieved directly from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles' (BMV) database. The electronic record displays driving history information only. Depending on the record type selection, the driving records provided via this service contain the driving history of the past 3 or 10 years. Please note that this service does not offer a certified record. Should you require a certified record, please contact BMV at (207) 624-9000, ext 52116.	You may contact the BMV Driver License Information Unit at: 207- 624-9000 ext. 52116 For technical assistance contact InforME at: 207- 621-2600 or Email: info@informe.org	 3-year record fee – \$7.00 10-year record fee – \$12.00 	State
* Maryland	Maryland Driver and Vehicle Records Driver Batch Monitoring	This batch file transfer (sFTP) service allows customers to register drivers for monitoring. Each night, the system inspects the records of monitored drivers and generates a result file containing the entire driver record. A three-year driving record is produced and sent to the customer whenever a new Driver's License number is submitted.	PO Box 6728 Annapolis, MD 221401 Phone: 410-990-1090 Fax: 800-861-0218 Email: mdhelp@egov.com	 Records for non-governmental companies – \$8.00 per record Records for governmental agencies – \$2.50 per record There are no minimum fees 	State

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
*Massachusetts	Driver Verification System (DVS)	The DVS is a program that notifies employers of a change in an employee's driving status.	Phone: 857-368-7243	Cost information is made available when an account is created.	State
* Michigan	Driver Record Subscription Services	The Driving Record Subscription Service provides an organization with the driving record of their employees on an annual basis; or whenever there are any violations, restrictions, suspensions, or revocations posted to the record.	Michigan Department of State Bureau of Driver and Vehicle Records Attn: Commercial Services Section 7064 Crowner Drive Lansing, MI 48918 Email: CommercialServices@mic higan.gov	There is no fee for employers to enroll their employees into the program. The fee is \$11.00 per driver record when generated.	State
* Nebraska	Driver License Record Administration System	This service allows Nebraska.gov subscribers to maintain a listing of individuals/employees online that require frequent review of driver license records. Nebraska's system also offers monthly monitoring with email notifications for an extra cost.	Nebraska.gov 301 South 13 th St, Suite 301 Lincoln, NE 68508-2593 Phone: 402-471-7810	 Annual subscription fee – \$50.00 annual Driver monitor fee – \$0.06 per driver Driver record fee – \$3.00 for each driving record with a change is detected during the previous month. 	State

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
* New Mexico	Record Request Services	The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division offers online services to businesses that have a legitimate business need to access information. Anytime there is a change to a driver's license a notification will be sent immediately to the motor carrier. Services can only be accessed by subscribers that meet Federal and State statutory laws.	New Mexico Interactive Attention: Subscriber Services 4001 Office Court Dr, Suite 704 Santa Fe, NM 87507 Phone: 505-982-8307 or 1-877-660-3468	 Annual fee – \$75 which provides access for up to 10 registered users. If you require more than 10 users, you may purchase additional subscriptions (e.g., one subscription for 10 users, two subscriptions for 20 users, and so on). Monitoring Fee - \$1.20 a year per driver. Users are billed monthly for any fees associated with the services. 	State
* New York	License Event Notification System (LENS)	LENS can supply important information about the driving qualifications of drivers that you employ or regulate. Organizations that use LENS can quickly identify their problem drivers, and focus efforts to improve safety and decrease vulnerability. After you establish a roster of drivers in LENS, it will automatically notify you of driver license events as they post to your drivers' records.	NYS DMV Data Services Phone: 518-486-4480 Email: dmv.sm.lens@dmv.ny.gov	 Add a driver – \$7.00 Remove a driver – \$0.00 License event Notifications \$1.00 per notification Additional driving records – \$7.00 per record 	State

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
* North Carolina	NC Transportation Notification System (TNS)	TNS offers 24/7 "at a glance" access to view company's driver license status. A notification will be sent automatically when a change is made to a driving record.	Tracy Rice Phone: 919-861-3235 Email: sadlshelp@ncdot.gov	• \$10 per record.	State
North Dakota	Driver License Status System	This function, available on the NDDOT website, allows employers/drivers to enter a driver's license number to check the status, i.e. licensed or not licensed, of a CDL or a regular operator's license. Please note that the site does not display any conviction/withdrawal information	Phone: 701-328-2600	• Fee of \$3.00 for each record sent.	State

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
* Oregon	Automated Reporting Service (ARS)	ARS is a service offered to employers to monitor the driving records of their employees. These employers must first have a valid Record Inquiry Account to qualify for the service. The ARS produces and sends customers a printed driving record whenever a conviction, accident, or suspension is posted to one of their employee records that they have enrolled in this service. A printed driving record will be provided at the time you add a driver to the service if there is already a current or pending suspension, cancellation or revocation on the employee's record.	For general questions on ARS, please call 503-945-5427. For billing or payment issues, please call 503-986-3960.	 Request for DMV to add or delete drivers – \$2.00 Add or delete drivers online using Automated Reporting Service – No fee Certified Court Printed driving record mailed – \$3.00 List of employees enrolled – \$30.00 	State
* South Carolina	Employer Notification	The Employer Notification program monitors an employee's driving record for an employer. It can supplement and/or supplant an employer's self-reporting process for its employees as it relates to their driving record. The employer will be notified if an event occurs that results in a change to the employee's driving record. This does not replace the need to get a driver's driving record.	Email: help@scdmvonline.com Phone: 803-896-5000	The cost of this service is based on a sliding scale of the number of employees enrolled. Motor carriers will be billed every year.	State

State	System Name	Description	Point of Contact	Cost	State Operated or Third Party Operated.
* Virginia	Driver Alert Program	Driver Alert is an efficient, cost effective way for companies to ensure that their employees are qualified drivers. Some features include: email notifications when Driver Alert has generated driving transcripts, electronically viewable and printable employees' driving records, and an efficient way to sign up and update your list of drivers. Notifications can be sent immediately, and employers can choose a of month and day they would like to receive annual risk management reports.	Email: driveralert@dmv.virginia.g ov Website: www.dmvNOW.com/drive ralert	 Information use agreement fee – \$25 for two years. Driver record pull – \$8.00 per individual record pull, \$9.00 automatically generated annual risk management driver records, and \$10.00 per driver record generated from the alerts. 	State
* Wisconsin	Public Abstract Request System (PARS)	The Employer Notification Program identifies any enrolled employee with recent activity on their driving record and allows the account holder immediate access to the current driver record abstract.	Wisconsin Interactive Network (WIN) Phone: 608-250-4606 Email: wi_helpdesk@egov.com Website: http://www.portal.wi.gov/r egister	 Driver/vehicle abstract request fee – \$5.00 There are no annual fees, minimum monthly fees, or enrollment fees associated with PARS or the Employer Notification Program. 	Third Party