

THE STATE OF GEORGIA

EXECUTIVE ORDER

BY THE GOVERNOR:

- WHEREAS: The National Weather Service issued a Winter Storm Advisory for much of Georgia, including the Metro Atlanta area, on January 16, 2018; and
- **WHEREAS:** Accumulated snowfall and freezing rain totals could potentially reach more than an inch across the impacted areas. Furthermore, temperatures over the next forty-eight (48) hours may allow for melting and refreezing of accumulated snow and freezing rain, producing additional ice related hazards; and
- WHEREAS: This Winter Storm has the potential to cause significant damages and power outages throughout the affected area; and
- WHEREAS: Roads may be impassable with expected and potential snow and ice accumulations; and
- **WHEREAS:** The assistance of the government of the State of Georgia is necessary to protect the public health, preserve the safety of the public, keep property damage to a minimum and restore the social and economic welfare of impacted counties; and
- **WHEREAS**: The authority is vested in the Governor by virtue of O.C.G.A. § 38-3-51 to issue reasonable orders, rules and regulations deemed necessary to protect public health, safety and welfare, and to bring the emergency situation under control within the acknowledged limitations of the powers of the Governor.

NOW THEREFORE, PURSUANT TO THE AUTHORITY VESTED IN ME AS GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA, IT IS HEREBY

ORDERED: That a State of Emergency exists in the following counties: Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattahoochee, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Elbert, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Glascock, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Hart, Heard, Henry, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lincoln, Lumpkin, Madison, Marion, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Rabun, Richmond, Rockdale, Spalding, Stephens, Talbot, Taliaferro, Taylor, Towns, Troup, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, Washington, White, Whitfield and Wilkes.

IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED: That all resources of the State of Georgia be made available to assist in preparation, response and recovery activities in the above mentioned counties, and the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency activate the Georgia Emergency Operations Plan.

This Executive Order shall be valid for a period of two (2) days, ending at 11:59 pm on January 18, 2018.

This $16^{\frac{1}{2}}$ day of January, 2018 at 9:45 AM/PM.

GOVERNOR