

THE STATE OF GEORGIA

EXECUTIVE ORDER

BY THE GOVERNOR:

WHEREAS: On January 22, a second round of winter storms is expected to affect North

Georgia prompting a Winter Storm Warning for Banks, Catoosa, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Franklin, Gilmer, Gordon, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, Walker, White, and Whitfield

Counties; and

WHEREAS: This storm may cause snow and ice accumulations creating major difficulties in

traveling on roads, bridges, culverts and other public and private properties in

these areas: and

WHEREAS: The assistance of the government of the State of Georgia may be necessary to implement protective measures to ensure the public health, preserve the safety of

implement protective measures to ensure the public health, preserve the safety of the public, keep property damage to a minimum and to minimize the social and

economic impacts of this event on the citizens of this state; and

WHEREAS: In light of these circumstances and in conjunction with the authority vested in

the Governor by virtue of Article 3, Section 38-3-51, of the Georgia Emergency Management Act of 1981, as amended to promulgate reasonable orders, rules and regulations as are deemed necessary to protect public health, safety and welfare, and to bring the emergency situation under control within the acknowledged

limitations of the powers of the Governor.

NOW THEREFORE, PURSUANT TO THE AUTHORITY VESTED IN ME

AS GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA, IT IS HEREBY

ORDERED:

That a State of Emergency exists in the counties listed above until midnight on Sunday, January 24, 2016, and that personnel and equipment resources of the State of Georgia be made available to assist in preparedness, response and recovery activities that may be undertaken in the above mentioned counties, and that the Georgia Emergency Management Agency activates the Georgia

Emergency Operations Plan.

This 21^{5} day of January, 2016 at 5 4M/PM.

Mollan Deal GOVERNOR