## Truck Leasing Task Force

## Minutes Meeting of October 17, 2023

FMCSA's Truck Leasing Task Force (TLTF) met virtually on October 17, 2023, via Zoom. In accordance with the provisions of Public Law 92-463, the meeting was open to the public. Larry Minor, Designated Federal Officer (DFO), called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

The following individuals attended the public meeting:

## TLTF COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Steve Rush, Founder, Carbon Express, Inc, Chair

Tamara Brock, Lewis & Lewis Logistics LLC

Paul Cullen, The Cullen Law Firm PLLC

Jim Jefferson, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA)

Joshua Krause, OTRLeasing LLC

Kaitlyn Long, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Lesley Tse, Of Counsel, Getman, Sweeney & Dunn PLLC

Steve Viscelli, Professor, University of Pennsylvania

## FMCSA AND OTHER GOVERNMENTAL REPRESENTATIVES

Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy, DFO

Shannon Watson, Senior Policy Advisor and Deputy DFO

Ryan Kelly, Risk Monitoring Program Manager Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Emma Oppenheim, Senior Fellow, Workers Initiative, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Gilberto Castro, Border Inspector, Texas Division

Bennie Cheatham, Safety Investigator, Georgia Division

Justine Chen, Writer-Editor, Office of Communications

Keyanna Frazier, Audit Liaison, Office of Policy

Stephen Garcia, Transportation Specialist, Office of Safety

Evangela Hollowell, Equity Program Analyst, Office of Policy

Traci Johnson, Safety Operations Program Manager, Western Service Center

Michael Jordan, Management & Program Analyst, Office of Policy

Tom Keane, Associate Administrator for Research and Registration

Kimberly Lambert, Chief, Strategic Planning and Program Evaluation Division

Mike Lamm, Assistant Division Administrator, Texas

Wendy Liberante, Director of Policy, Strategic Planning & Regulations, Office of Policy

Nicholas Lockhart, Management Analyst, Office of Policy

Gregory Miller, Ethics Attorney, Office of Chief Counsel

Crystal Polk, Management and Program Analyst, Office of Policy

Monique Riddick, Chief, Commercial Enforcement Division, Office of Safety

Jose Rivas, Transportation Specialist, Compliance Division

Julianne Schwarzer, Volpe Center

Eran Segev, Volpe Center

Philip Thomas, Deputy Associate Administrator for Safety

Donnice Wagoner, Lead Transportation Specialist, Commercial Enforcement Division

Ghita Wahdani, Management Analyst, Office of Policy

Cicely Waters, Director, Office of Communications

## Truck Leasing Task Force

Joung-Won Lee, Mathematical Statistician, Office of Policy Kala Wright, Director of External Affairs

## **OTHER ATTENDEES**

Rosalva Alfaro, Interflet Transport Inc

David Brannan, The Evans Network of Companies

C Chey, Self

Jon Coca, Diamond Transportation System, Inc.

Shannon Cohen, Scopelitis, Garvin, Light, Hanson & Feary

Charity Coleman, Changeis

David Cullen, Commercial Carrier Journal

Jim Fetzer, Land Line Now

John Gallagher, FreightWaves

Jay Grimes, OOIDA

Larisa Gurau, Safety Logistics Group Incorporated

Loredana Horoi, Self

Katrina Jordan, Intact Insurance

Anna Lach-Zynwala, Intact Insurance

Jason Musselman, Transportation Compliance Services USA

Tyler Pieper, Changeis

Konrad Pilatowicz, U-Haul International

Lewie Pugh, OOIDA

Joe Rajkovacz, Western States Trucking Association

Cassandra Raposo, Changeis

Jeff Reed, Tennessee Highway Patrol

Danial Salman, University of Washington

Mark Schremmer, Land Line Magazine

Henry Seaton, Law Office of Seaton & Husk LP

Reed Shaw, Governing for Impact

Travis Smith, NXT Gen Transport LLC

Ryan Snyder, Truck Renting and Leasing Association

Dee Studebaker, OOIDA

David Taube, Industry Dive

Norita Taylor, OOIDA

Jay Thompson, Yasawa Group Ltd

Joe Waldvogel, Trend Moving LLC

## REMARKS AND COMMITTEE ACTION

Larry Minor, Associate Administrator for Policy, FMCSA and DFO, welcomed TLTF members with Shannon Watson, Deputy DFO. Committee members introduced themselves and Steve Rush, TLTF Chair, gave opening remarks. Mr. Rush reminded the committee that its role is to stop predatory practices in the Commercial Motor Vehicle industry.

TLTF approved the July 11, 2023, meeting minutes unanimously.

## **Truck Leasing Task Force**

## ETHICS UPDATE ON THE SUNSHINE ACT

Gregory Miller provided an overview of how the Sunshine Act relates to federal advisory committees and, more specifically, to TLTF.

## **PRESENTATION**

	Presenter	Potential Consumer Risks Posed by Truck Lease-Purchase Agreement
1	Emma Oppenheim, Senior Fellow, Workers Initiative, CFPB	Potential Consumer Risks Posed by Truck Lease-Purchase Agreement

Emma Oppenheim, Senior Fellow, Workers Initiative, CFPB, discussed her organization's experience with and initiatives addressing truck lease-purchase abuses in the industry. Employer-driven debt is a major risk to drivers, occurring when a worker is indebted to their employer for initial, required, costs such as training and equipment. Workers are often unaware of the specifics of such debts when they enter into these agreements. As their ability to repay the debt is linked to their employment the employer controls the circumstances. Workers can become trapped in their work and indebted to employers who abuse their position of power and control.

# Task Statement 23-2: Common Truck Leasing Agreements to Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) Drivers and the Existence of Inequitable Leasing Agreements and Terms in the Motor Carrier Industry

TLTF deliberated on Task 23-2, requesting recommendations to the Agency regarding inequitable leasing agreements and terms in the motor carrier industry.

## **Discussion Points**

- Vulnerabilities for drivers entering lease agreements include being a non-native English speaker, lack of technical expertise, and financial resources for adequate review of the lease.
- Standardize language in disclosures to promote equitable conditions within lease agreements.
- Provided recommendations on standardizing language in lease-to-purchase agreements and additional actions by both carriers and drivers to deter predatory practices.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

No public comments were made.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Mr. Minor and Ms. Watson thanked TLTF for their contributions and provided information for future meetings.

//Signed//	//Signed//
Steve Rush, Chair	Larry Minor, DFO