Information Sheet for the Public: State-by-state Instructions for Submitting Medical Certificates to the State Driver Licensing Agencies

Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Alabama	YES Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Driver License Division, CDL Unit P.O. Box 1471, Montgomery, Al 36102-1471	YES 334-353-1980	YES cdlmedical.merger@alea.gov	We accept pdf,jpeg.tiff formats	CDL cancellation; to reclaim cdl must provide current medical cert/card.	Jeannie Eastman	334-242-4777	cdlmedicalmerger@dps.alabama.gov
Alaska	1300 W. Benson Blvd, Suite 100 Anchorage, AK 99503	907-269-3774	doa.dmv.ads@alaska.gov	If email, pdf format only, please include a good contact number in your email.	Commercial driving privileges will be cancelled for failure to comply.	Lauren Whiteside	907-269-3770	lauren. whiteside@alaska.gov
Arizona	Medical Review Program MD8182 PO Box 2100 Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100	623-925-9323	Secure email found under "Contact Medical Review" at: http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/Me dicalReview/MedicalReviewProg ram.asp	Walk-ins customers can bring cert cards directly to: Medical Review Program 1452 N. Eliseo C. Felis Ir. Way Avondale, AZ 85323 (they may also walk it into any AZ Motor Vehicle Office to be forwarded to Medical Review Program)	CDL privileges become suspended & revoked	Medical Review Program	602-771-2460	MedicalReview@ardot.gov
Arkansas	Department of Finance of Administration Attn: CDL Helpdesk PO Box 1272 Little Rock, AR, 72203	501-683-3530	Richelle.jones@dfa.arkansas.go v	In Person at the 135 Arkansas Revenue Offices	Per federal regulations CFR 383, 384, 300 and 391, status will be changed to not certified. Sixty (60) days later downgrade process implemented and driver lose all CDL privileges. Twelve months after the downgrade, the driver will be required to retest to obtain a CDL license.	Richelle Jones	501-682-1400	CDL.helpdesk@dfa.arkansas.gov
California	Department of Motor Vehicles CDL Unit M/S G204 P.O. 8ox 944278 Sacramento, CA. 94244-2780				The driving privilege reverts to non commercial status. The driving record is marked "Not valid for commercial operation" until a valid medical is updated.	CDL Helpdesk	916-657-5771 or 916-657- 5772	
Colorado	YES Colorado Department of Revenue Attn: CDL Unit 1881 Pierce St. Lakewood CO 80214	YES 303-205-5709	YES dor_cdlunit@state.co.us	Online at: https://mydmv.colorado.gov/_/#2	10th day of an expired medical, med cert status is changed to NOT, a letter is generated and mailed to the individual. 23 days steet if still no compliance, there will be a cancellation of entire driving privileges. Compliance only by means of a new DOT or a downgrade to a regular incises. No reinstance fee. No re-qualifying unless over 1 year on either a cancellation or downgrade.	DOT Medical Desk Shawn Kizzar	1. 303-205-5843 2. 303-205-5983 3. 303-205-5829	dor_cdlunit@state.co.us
Connecticut	NO	860-263-5568	YES dmv.cdl@ct.gov	N/A	Disqualify until compliance	Susan Archambault	860-263-5726	susan.archambault@ct.gov
Delaware	VES Delaware DMV Attn: CDL Department PO BOX 698 Dover, DE 19903	YES 302 -739-2602	NO	N/A	Deny commercial privileges and change class of license to a Class D. If no valid med cert on file for 1 year, driver must complete all testing to get commercial privileges back. (eye, written, and road)	Delaware Help Desk	877-477-7117	N/A
District of Columbia	YES 1205 Brentwood Rd. NE Washington, DC 20018	YES 202 - 576-9217	YES dmvcdl@dc.gov	Submit online at http://dmv.dc.gov/page/whats-new-cdl	Disqualify until compliance	Calvin Dyson Natasha Green Joana Cruz	202-576-8280 or 202-576-8283	<u>dmvcdl@dc.go</u> v
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Florida	NO	NO	NO	Submit online at http://fihsmv.gov/ddl/cdlmedicalcert.html or in person at any Florida Driver License Issuance Office	Disqualified from CMV operation. CDL must be surrendered for non- commercial (Class B) license until medical certification updated or self- certification changed to excepted category.	CDL Helpdesk	850-617-2606	NA
Georgia	YES Department of Driver Services Attn: RM-CDL P.O. Box 80447 Conyers, GA 30113	YES 770-918-6271	Not at this time - are considering this as a future possibility	Self Certification forms must be submitted in person.	Medical status changed to 'not certified' until new medical certifications and applicable variances are provided. Driver may be required to re-test if they remain in downgraded class for a long period of time.	Kathy Harvey	478-751-4190	kharvev@dds.ga.gov
Hawaii	YES 601 Kamokila BLVD., #511 Kapolei,HI 96707	YES 808-692-7665	YES driverrecords.hwyv@hawaii.gov	If a Motor Carrier submits their driver's med certs in batches, MC needs to include cover page with company name and phone number or annotate MC name and phone number on each form.	Per State procedures, failure to provide an updated MEC within S3 days of the MEC expiration date will result in an inmediate downgrade to a class 3 (non-COL) license. Will reinstate CIb status when current med cert copy is submitted and, if downgrade was completed, upon payment of a reinstatement fee (varies by County).	HI CDL Help Desk	808-692-7659	driverrecords.hwvv@hawali.gov

ldaho	YES Iddaho Transportation Department PO Box 7129 Boise ID 83707-1129	YES (208) 334-8586	YES-medical cards can be e-mailed to: dimail@itd.idaho.gov Only the wallet card is required-not the long form medical examiner's report	Idaho's self-certification process can be completed quickly and easily online at https://dmwapps.td.idaho.gov/cdiselfcertification Drivers who are required to submit a medical card to 10T may submit the card via FAX, E-mail, US Mail, or may take the card to any County Driver's License office to be scanned.	Commercial drivers who fail to self-certify, and if required, submit a medical card to ITD on or before January 30, 2014 will have their Commercial Drivery privilege removed from their driver; Iscense. Drivers must also keep a copy of their medical card current with ITD to maintain commercial driving privileges after the January 30, 2014 deadline.	CDL Helpdesk	208-334-8739	CDI.helpdesk@itd.idaho.gov
Illinois	All drivers must initially appear at one of our 47 CDE Facilities to Declare the type of driving they intend to operate. If they choose NI, they must provide a current Medical Examiner's Certificate to be loaded to their Illinois driving record. If they choose EI, NA or EA, they must sign the declaration mich is loaded to their Illinois driving record. After the original declaration, we will accept Medical Examiner's Certificates mailed to: Secretary of State's Office Attn: CDL/Medical Card Unit 2701 South Dirksen Parkway Springfield, II 62723	After the driver's original declaration, renewed Medical Examiner's Certificates may be faxed to: (217) 558-5156	After the driver's original declaration, renewed Medical Examiner's Certificates may be emailed to: cdlmedicalcard@ilsos.net	Emailed Medical Examiner's Certificates must be a scanned or an attached PDF document. An email containing only Medical Examiner's Certificate information will not be accepted.	The driver's CDL privileges will be cancelled. CDL privileges will be reinstated upon receipt and approval of an updated Medical Examiner's Certificate. There is no fee and no examinations required for reinstatement.	TracyWilhour	Tray Wilhour 217- 557-5390	twilhour⊕lisos.net
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Indiana	Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle, 100 N Senate Ave, N481, Indianapolis, IN 46204	317-974-1613	No	CDL holder must send all pages of the Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination along with the Medical Examiner's Certificate.	Indiana CLP/CDL holder must maintain on file a vaild medal examination/medical examiner's certificate. When the medical examiner's certificate expires, the medical staws will change from certified to not-certified. After 30 days the CLP/CDL will be disqualified and downgraded to the driver's base line license. If the CDL is revoked, invalid, suspended, disqualified or expired longer than 1 year, then the CDL applicant is required to retest (start over).	Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles	888-692-6841	
lowa	IA DOT, Driver and Identification Services PO Box 9204 Des Moines IA 50306-9204	515-239-1837	CDLMedCert@dot.iowa.gov	e-mail scan must be pdf format	CDUS driver history record will be changed immediately to not certified and downgrade to a non-commercial status will be effective in 6d days. They may end or prevent a downgrade by providing the appropriate documentation.	Kelly Queener	515-244-9124	CDLMedCert@iowadot.us
Kansas	Driver Licensing Docking State Office Building ATTN: Medical Cert P.O. Box 2188 Topeka, KS 66601-2128	YES 785- 296-5859 or 785-296-0691 Attn: Medical Certification	YES medical.certification@kdor.ks.g ov	Drivers can also complete form online at https://www.idor.org/d/kCDCertificate.aspx. Medical card can be attached online or as an email attachment if it is in PDF format	Decertification at time of medical card expiration. If a driver falls to re-certify within 60 days they will be downgraded to a con-commercial license. Full testing required to obtain CDL after 1 year from downgrade.	Kent Selk	785-296-2013	<u>kent selk@kdor.ks.ro</u> v
Kentucky	Kentucky Transportation Cabinet/Drivers Licensing 200 Mero St. Frankfort, KY 40622	NO	NO	Submit medical certifications, self-certifications, and commercial applications to web portal at MyCDL.Ky.Gov	<1 yr=none, >1 yr= retest written & vision >5 =start over	Customer Service Center	502-564-1257	kytc.ddlwebservices@ky.gov
Louisiana	P.O. Box 64886 Baton Rouge, LA 70896	225-925-3901	OMV CDL Medical@dps.la.gov	PDF format is acceptable	Depends on how long the driver goes without CDL privileges. Over 1 year will result in retesting all written tests, Over 2 years will result in retesting all written and skills tests.	CDL Help Desk	225-925-7727	OMV_CDL_Medical@dps.la.gov
Maine	YES Bureau of Motor Vehicles CDL Compliance Unit 29 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333- 0029	YES 207-624-9339	YES cdlcompliance.BMV@maine.gov (must be a scanned Word doc or PDF)	Customer can hand carry into any branch or mobile unit location.	Disqualified from non-excepted interstate operation and downgraded to an excepted status. On January 30, 2014, all CDL holders who are non-compliant will be downgraded to a non-commercial drivers license.	CDL Compliance Unit	207-624-9000 ext 52126	cdicompliance.8MV@maine.gov
Maryland	YES Maryland MVA ATTN: CDL MedCert 6601 Ritchie Highway, NE, Room 145 Glen Burnie, MD 21062	YES 410-787-7959	YES CDLMedCert@mva.maryland.gov	Scanned copy of originals	Customer must downgrade to a noncommercial license or their entire driving privilege will be cancelled.	CDL Helpdesk	410-424-3777	CDLMedCert@mva.maryland.gov
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact

Massachusetts	YES Mass DOT, RMV Division Driver Licensing Division - CDL P.O. Box 55889 Boston, MA 02205	YES 857-368-0818	NO	The RMV accepts medical certificates in branch offices. An on-line application is also available. Drivers are encouraged to use the RMV website for this transaction listed under "Other" on Online Transactions at <a (remove="" all="" and="" cdl="" certified"="" downgrade="" follow.<="" href="https://www.massrmv.com./mailed,in-person or raxed medical certificates must be accompanied by a completed CDL Self-Certification Form which is available on the RMV website.</th><th>Drivers who fail to comply will be disqualified from operating a CMV. If updated information is not received, the CDL will be downgraded to a Class D license within 60 days. Failure to restore the CDL within 12 months will require retesting.</th><th>Driver Licensing Division</th><th>857-368-8110</th><th>www.massrmv.com/feedback.aspx</th></tr><tr><td>Michigan</td><td>YES
MII Department of State CDL Help Desk
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918</td><td>YES
(517) 636-4359</td><td>Medical certificates are not accepted via
email, however, customers may self
certify, scan and submit Medical
Certificates via the web.</td><td>Medical Certificates are not accepted via email, however, customers may self certify, scan and submit Medical Certificates via the web at the link below: https://services.sos.state.mi.us/CDLIS/Pages/login.aspx</td><td>As of January 30, 2014, loss of CDL privileges</td><td>JoLynn Peck
CDL Help Desk Supervisor</td><td>517-322-5555</td><td><u>oecki3@michigan.go</u>v</td></tr><tr><td>Minnesota</td><td>Driver and Vehicle Services Division 445
Minnesota Street, Suite 180
St. Pauli, MN 55101-5175</td><td>YES (651) 297-4447</td><td>NO.</td><td></td><td>Downgrade of license class to non-commerical. New medical certificate and self-certification required within one year of downgrade to restore CDL privileges.</td><td>CDL Help Desk</td><td>651-297-5029</td><td>dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us</td></tr><tr><td>Mississippi</td><td>Mississippi will not accept mailed in, faxed in or e-mailed in copies of medical card. Must be submitted in person or by web portal at https://www.ms.gov/dps/cdl_medcar d/</td><td>Mississippi will not accept mailed in, faxed in or e-mailed in copies of medical card. Must be submitted in person or by web portal at https://www.ms.go.w/dps/cdl_medcard/</td><td></td><td>Only accept Original Medical card no long forms. Will accept Medical Cards that are valid.</td><td>Driver's Failure to Keep medical certificate current. a. Letter mailed to driver 30 days prior to expiration advising them that their medical certification will expire and they have until expiration to update record with new medical certification. One day after expiration their CDL status will show " medically="" not="" privileges)="" td="" will=""><td>Primary: Lin Easterling Back up: MSgt. Ray Steed</td><td>601-987-1367 601-987-1334</td><td>leasterling@dps.ms.gov rsteed@dps.ms.gov</td>	Primary: Lin Easterling Back up: MSgt. Ray Steed	601-987-1367 601-987-1334	leasterling@dps.ms.gov rsteed@dps.ms.gov	
Missouri	NO	NO	NO	N/A	Oriver is currently issued a citation under 307.400 R5Mo. If the Department is notified, proof to DOT medica is requested and if not provided the driver will be downgraded. Also, if driver fraudulently self certifies during the application process they are administratively denied for one year.	Public Service Operators	573-751-1887	dibmail@dor.mo.gov
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Montana	DOJ/MVD CDL Helpdesk PO Box 201430 Helena, MT 59620	YES 406-444- 1987	cdiheipdesk@mt.gov	As of January 30, 2014 all commercial drivers who hold a CDL in Montana needed to have Self-Certified to their type operation of a CMV, and submitted a valid copy of their Medical Examiner's Certificate (NeC). If the Montana motor vehicle division did not receive these documents, the driver's licensing status would have been downgraded from "Commercial" to "Non-Commercial" status. If a commercial driver exclusively operates a CMV under one of the "Excepted" statuss, and they have have self-certified as "Excepted Interstate", a MEC does not have to be submitted.	All Intrastate and Non-Excepted Interstate CDL holders in Montana must keep a willid and current Medical Examiner's Certificate (MEV, with the Motor Veleic Division. If a Commercial driver does not submit a new MEC on or before expiration date to their expirate MCC, their medical status will be changed to "Non-Centfied" AND their CDL will be downgraded to "Non-Commercial". This action will be taken within 10-days of the MEC expiration date and the driver will no longer be valid to operate a commercial motor vehicle. The department may reinstate a CDL that has been downgraded Linese, the person: OSubmits a current Med Cert; or o Certifies to a change in operation status to "Excepted" Interstate.	COL Helpdesk Patrick McJannet Beverly Pellen	406-444-3244 406-444-2001 406-444-2819	cdfhelpdesk@mt.gov pmciannet@mt.gov bpellen@mt.gov
Nebraska	Yes Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Licensing Services P.O. Box 94726 Lincoln, NE 68509	Yes (402) 471-3157	Yes dmv.exam- medcert@nebraska.gov	N/A	If driver fails to complete the downgrade process, the CDL will be cancelled. If cancelled for med cert and send updated self-certification and/or medical card within 1 year, no testing required. If over 1 year, all testing required.	Driver Licensing Services	402 - 471-3861	dmv.exam-medcert@nebraska.gov
Nevada	Any Nevada DMV can accept & update CDL physicals. The primary offices are: 4110 Donovan Way NLV NV 89030	Donovan 702-486- 5625 Carson City 775-684- 4829	Not a preferred method.	N/A	CDL is cancelled and a reinstatement fee must be paid	Shawanna Washington Kathryn Hamlin	702-486-5655 775-688-2535	Info@dmv.nv.gov
New Hampshire	YES, NH-DMV/DRIVER LICENSING BUREAU 23 HAZEN DR., CONCORD NH 03305	NO	NHCDLMEDCARDS@DOS.NH.GO V	PDF format only	Commercial driving privileges will be cancelled for failure to comply.	Jeff Oberdank	603-227-4020	Jeffrey.Oberdank@dos.nh.gov

	NIMVC CDI LINIT		T	I	Driver will be Decertified 10 days after Med Cert Expires. Will not be able to	1		I
New Jersey	P.O. Box 685 Trenton, NJ 08666	FAX: 609-984-1245	No	New Jersey drivers can walk into any MVC agency if they choose to.	Driver will be Decertined a Didays after Med Left Expires. Will not be able to renew without new eart. Notice will be sent to driver one decertified, they will have 30 days after letter to provide new med cert. If not received, driver will be downgraded to a basic license.	Lori Sannella	609-292-7500 ext 5077	<u>Lori Sannella @mvc.ni.go</u> v
New Mexico	2546 Camino Entrada Santa Fe, NM87507	1-505-476-1578	YES NMCDL.HelpDesk@state.nm.us		NM will downgrade the Driver's CDL Driving Privileges	Yvette Facteau Vickie Evans	505-476-1588 505-476-1581	Yvette.Facteau@state.nm.us Vickie.Evans@state.nm.us
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact
NewYork	YES Medical Certification Unit NYS Department of Motor Vehicles PO Box 2601 Albany NY 12220-0601	YES 518-486-4421 518-486-3260	YES <u>Dmv.sm.CDUMedCertUnit@dm</u> v .nv.gov_	New York CDL holders should not take their updated medical certificates into a DWL Issuing Office UNLESS thay are also performing a license transaction (such as a renewal). Medical certificates should be submitted by mail, fax or e-mail directly to the Medical Certification Central Office. Drivers should review their medical certificates for accuracy, lepibility and completeness prior to submission. Incorrect, illegible or incomplete documents will be rejected. When submitting a medical certificate to the Medical Certification Unit by mail, fax or e-mail, CDL holders should be sure to include current contact information (phone number or e-mail address) with their document.	"CDL holders that fail to keep their medical certificate current become medically "not certified" when the medical certificate on file expires. A letter is sent to the driver advising them that they are "not certified" and that their CDL license will be downgraded in 55 days unless they submit an acceptable medical certificate to the CDL Med Cert Unit. If acceptable proof of medical certificate on in ort received and processed within 55 days, the CDL is downgraded to non-CDL license on the 56th day. Drivers have until the expiration date of their driver's licenses, and up to two years past the expiration date. Due recertified and obtain their CDL again without having to be retested. Two years past the expiration date of the CDL, again without having to be retested. Two years past the holders that submit raduallet medical documents to the Medical Certification. Unit will have their CDL license revoked for one year.	Medical Certification Unit	518-474-3603 M-F9:00-1:00 EST	_Dmv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv.ny.g
North Carolina	YES – Data Capture Imaging, Unit 3126 Mail Service Center Raleigh, N. C 27699- 3126 3126 Mail Service Center Raleigh, N.C 27699- 3126	YES 919-861-3599	YES E-mail address: CDL medical@ncdot.gov	Hand deliver form to local NCDMV Office; office locations and hours on website: www.ncdot.gov/dmv	Downgrade to non-CDL; Re-application only	Customer Service Center	919-861-3599	<u>colimedical@ncdot.ao</u> v
North Dakota	YES Drivers License Division 608 E. Boulevard Avenue Bismarck, ND 58505-0750	YES 701-328-0308	Yes - dotfaxdlmedicalcerts@nd.gov	If e-mailing submit as PDF.	Immediate downgrade to non-CDL. Re-application if 1 year or less; if more than 1 year, applicant must start over.	Casandra Aufenthie	701-328-4355	ciaufenthie@nd.gov
Ohio	Ohio BMV CDL/Out of State Processing P.O. Box 16784 Columbus, OH 43216- 6784	(614)308-5181 Please include a cover page with name, address and telephone number	CDL@dps.state.oh.us	If emailing Medical Certificate, we prefer PDF format.	Driver must self-certify in another category (2,3 or 4) or be downgraded to an operators license.	Marcia L. Fisher, Assistant Chief, Driver License Suspension Section Amber- Lynn Daniels Customer Service Manager	855-240-8844	CDL@dps.state.oh.us
Oklahoma	YES Oklahoma Dept of Public Safety CDL Administration PO BOX 11415 OKC,OK 73136	YES 405-419-2196	YES mec@dps.state.ok.us		Downgrade, reinstate CDL with proof of new med cert.	Tamara Shepherd	405-425-2015	t <u>shepher@dps.state.ok.u</u> s
Oregon	DMV Driver Safety, CDL Medical Certification, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem, OR 97314	503-945-5329	<u>DSMEC@odot.state.or.u</u> s	if emailing medical certificate, jpg, pdf and embedded Word document are acceptable	CDLIS medical certification changed to "N" if NI. CDL cancellation notice sent effective 30 days later. Cancelled until downgrade or new certification. Once downgraded the customer has the option to regain the CDL without retesting for up to 3 years.	Customer Assistance		https://www.oregondmv.com/SS L/contactdmv/driver.htm
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Pennsylvania	PA Department of Transportation Bureau of Driver Licensing P.O. Box 68678 Harrisburg, PA 17106- 8678	717-783-5429	<u>CDimedscert@na.go</u> v	N/A	Driver's who do not update their Medical Examiner's Certificate prior to the current certificate's expiration date will have the commercial designation removed from their driver's license. In order to avoid the immediate removal of the commercial designation on the driver's license, a driver would need to update their self-certification to one of the "excepted" categories. However, making this change to their driving record will automatically disqualify them from operating in any form of transportation that requires a Medical Examiner's Certificate.	PennDOT will have specialized Customer Service Representatives available at our Call Center, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.	1-877-726-8824	click on "Contact Us" along the left side of the page www.dmv.state.pa.us

Rhode Island	No	No	N/A	None	Downgrade of CDL the day after medical certificate expiration	CDL unit	401-462- 5813	http://www.dmv.ri.gov/feedback /index.php
South Carolina	South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles CDL Help Desk PO Box 1498 Blythewood, SC 29016	803-896-2676	cdlhelpdesk@scdmv.net	PDF	To regain the commercial designation once it has been removed, drivers will be required to apply for a commercial learner's permit and complete all required knowledge and skills testing.	CDL Help Desk	803-896-2673	cdlhelpdesk@scdmv.net
South Dakota	YES Driver Licensing 118 West Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501	YES 605-773-3018	YES DPSCDLMedCert@state.sd.us	None	Downgrade, but no re-test: When driver provides a new medical, good to go. unless they've been downgraded over a year, then they have to re-test on both the written and skills tests.	Customer Service Section	605-773-6883	DPSCDLMedcert@state.sd.us
Tennessee	TN Dept. of Safety and Homeland Security Commercial Driver License Division 1148 Foster Ave Nashville, TN, 37243	615-401-7674	DI.CDL.Medcert@tn.gov.	The driver needs to provide self-certification affidavit provided by TDOS and the medical card. If email.pdf only	Downgrade to non-CDL, re-application only	CDL Helpdesk	615-687-2312	DI.CDIMedcert@tn.gov
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Texas	Texas Department of Public Safety Enforcement & Compliance Service / Attention: CDL Section-Med Cert P.O. Box 4087 Austin, TX 78773	512-424-2002	CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov	If emailing Medical Certificate, we prefer PDF format.	Driver is downgraded to a "driver license" (DL). Driver may re- establish the CDL by visiting a Driver License office, certify to a medical status and provide a valid MECV/ariance (if applicable). Here are the description of the description of the DL has not expired. If the DL has soptimed the driver will be required to take and pass all CDL written/driving exams. The driver will also be required to pay the associated fee to upgrade the CDL.	CDL Help Desk	512/424-2600	<u>CDI.MedCert@dps.texas.go</u> v
Utah	Driver License Division PO Box 144501 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501	801-957-8633	dimedcert@utah.gov	PDF format for email.	The driver does not comply within 45 days following the expiration date of DOT card their license will be disqualified for failure to downgrade.	Utah Customer Service Section	801 965-4437 or 888-353-4224	http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/ contact.html
Vermont	DMV CDL office 120 State Street Montpelier VT 05603	YES so long as they are legible 802-828-5548	if scanned with physician signature medcert@state.vt.us		suspension and or downgrade to class D operator's license	DMV	802-828-2085	dmv.medcert@vermont.gov
Virginia	Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles CDL/NDR Work Center, Rm. 420 P.O. Box 27412 Richmond, Virginia 23269- 0001	YES 804-367-6692	Submit electronically https://transfer.dmv.virginia.go v Username: cdldriver Password: dmv123	Uploaded document must be in a .pdf, .jpeg, .doc or .doc*format	Status will be changed to not certified and if driver does not comply then (30) days later the CDL will be canceled and driver will be downgraded to a DRL.	CDL/NDR Work Center	804-497-7100	dlworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov
Washington	Yes. CDL Medical Unit, P.O. Box 9030, Olympia, WA 98507-9030	Yes. 360-570-4915	Yes, forms only. CDLMED@DOL.WA.GOV	First time self-certifying, driver must bring in medical certificate to a service counter. All future medical certificate updates may use other options (i.e. mail, fax, email)	Downgraded. 45 days prior to expiration date the driver is sent a letter outlining the options to submit a new medical certificate. At 12:01am on the day of expiration the drivers license is automatically downgraded.	DOL Customer Service Center	360-902-3900	drivers@dol.wa.gov
West Virginia	YES Driver Licensing P. O. Box 17010	YES 304-926-3890	Submit electronically DMVLicenselssuance@wv.gov	NA	Downgrade, but no re-test if new certification is received within. three (3) years of initial downgrade	Mike May CDL/Driver Licensing	304-926-0761	Mike.A.May@wv.gov
Wisconsin	YES Wisconsin DMV/BDS PO Box 7995 Madison, WI 53707-7995	YES 608-261-8201	YES dre.dmv@dot.wi.gov	Any medical certificate sent into the department should have the driver's name and contact information included (like a phone number or email address) in case we have any questions. Incomplete or illegible certificates may be delayed in being entered on the record. Although we accept certificates by mail/fa/Jemall, we would recommend that drivers use a new web application. They can sign into the application from www. wisconsincdl.gov. This application can be used to self certify and to upload a medical certificates that are uploaded have to be in JPG, GIF, PNG, or PDF file types only and can't be over \$5 MB. Any medical certificate that is emailed to the department will have to use the same file type and size restrictions used in the web application (IPG, GIF, PNG, or PDF file types only and can't be over \$5 MB).	Driver would have to change their self certification to something other than Non-excepted interstate or provide an updated medical certificate to the department. Once the updates are made on the record, the CID. will be put back to a valid status. No tests are required.	Wisconsin DMV	608-264-7049	<u>dre.dmv@dot.wi.so</u> v
Does the State:	Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, mailing address	Accept Faxed Med Cert? If YES, fax number	Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail address	Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, reapplications only?	Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current	Name of Public Point of Contact	Phone Number of Public Point of Contact	Email Address of Public Point of Contact

Wyoming	YES 5300 Bishop Blvd. Cheyenne, WY 82009	YES 307-777-3800	YES: CDL@wyo.gov	Cancelled, must reapply	CDL Helpdesk	307-777-3836	cdl@wyo.gov