Information Sheet for the Public: State-by-state Instructions for Submitting Medical Certificates to the State Driver Licensing Agencies

Published September 2012
Updated January 2019

Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med |Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, re- Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current Name of Public Pointof | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? If VES, fax [address applications only? Contact Public Point of
number Contact
VES
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Driver
License Division, CDL Unit YEs
g B . . . . o b
Alabama  |p.0. Box 1471, Montgomery, AI36102-1471 | 33, 32’1000 cdimedical.merger@alea.gov We accept pdf,jpeg,tiff formats CDL cancellation; to reclaim cdl must provide current medical cert/card. Jeannie Eastman 334-242-4777 alabama. g
1300 W. Benson Bivd, Suite 100 If email, pdf format only, please include a good contact number
Alaska Anchorage, AK 99503 907-269-3774 doa.dmv.ads@alaska.gov in your email. Commercial driving privileges will be cancelled for failure to comply. Lauren Whiteside 907-269-3770 lauren.whiteside@alaska.gov
Secure email found under "Contact Walk-ins customers can bring cert cards directly to: Medical
Medical Review" at Review Program
Medical Review Program MD818Z PO Box http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/Me 1452 N. Eliseo C. Felix Jr. Way Avondale, AZ 85323
Arizona 2100 623-925-9323 dicalReview/MedicalReviewProg ram.asp|  (they may also walk it into any AZ Motor Vehicle Office to be CDL privileges become suspended & revoked Medical Review Program | 602-771-2460 MedicalReview@azdot.gov
Phoenix, AZ 85001-2100 forwarded to Medical Review Program)
Department of Finance of Administration Per federal regulations CFR 383, 384, 390 and 391, status will be changed to not
Attn: CDL Helpdesk PO Box 1272 certified. Sixty (60) days later downgrade process implemented and driver loses
Little Rock, AR, 72203 all CDL privileges. Twelve months after the downgrade, the driver will be
Arkansas 501-683-3530 Richelle jones@dfa.arkansas.go v In Person at the 135 Arkansas Revenue Offices required to retest to obtain a CDL license. Richelle Jones 501-682-1400 CDL helpdesk@dfa.arkansas.gov
Department of Motor Vehicles CDL Unit The driving privilege reverts to non commercial status. The driving record is 916-657-5771
M/S G204 marked "Not valid for commercial operation” until a valid medical is updated. or 916-657-
California P.0. Box 944278 Sacramento, CA. CDL Helpdesk 5772
94244-2780
YES 10th day of an expired medical, med cert status is changed to NOT, a letter is
Colorado Department of Revenue Attn: CDL, generated and mailed to the individual. 23 days later if still no compliance,
Unit there will be a cancellation of entire driving privileges. Compliance only by
1881 Pierce St. means of a new DOT or a downgrade to a regular license. No reinstatement 1 303.205.5843
Lakewood CO 80214 YES fee. No re-quali I 1 ith, llation or d de.| 1. DOT Medical Desk el
Colorado akewoo Online at: https://mydmv.colorado.gov/_/#2 ee. No re-qualifying unless over 1 year on either a cancellation or downgrade. edical Des 2.303-205-5983 dor_cdlunit@state.co.us

303-205-5709

dor_cdlunit@state.co.us

2. Shawn Kizzar

3. 303-205-5829

YES
Connecticut NO 860-263-5568 dmv.cdi@ct.gov N/A Disqualify until compliance Susan Archambault 860-263-5726 susan.archambault@ct.gov
YES
Delaware DMV Attn: CDL Department 302-739-2602
0 BOX 698 Deny commercial privileges and change class of license to a Class D. If no valid
Delaware Dover, DE 19903 NO N/A med cert on file for 1 year, driver must complete all testing to get commercial Delaware Help Desk 877-477-7117 N/A
privileges back. (eye, written, and road)
YEs Calvin Dyson Natasha Green | 202-576-8280
£ 1205 Brentwood Rd. NE Washington, DC Joana Cruz
District of YES
20018 //dmv.de. new- 202-576-8283
poriion 20257609217 dmvcdlde gov Submit online at http://dmv.dc.gov/page/whats-new-cdl Disqualify until compliance dmvedi@dc.gov
Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med | Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? OF, re- Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current | Name of Public Point of | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? If YES, fax [address applications only? Contact Public Point of
number Contact
. Disqualified from CMV operation. CDL must be surrendered for non-
Florida NO NO NO Submit online at http://fihsmv.gov/ddl/cdimedicalcerthtmlorin | (1o ool (Class E) license until medical certification updated o self- CDL Helpdesk 850-617-2606 NA
person at any Florida Driver License Issuance Office " N
certification changed to excepted category.
VES Medical status changed to ‘not certified until new medical certifications and
Department of Driver Services Attn: RM-CDL| applicable variances are provided. Driver may be required to re-test if they
P.0. Box 80447 Conyers, GA 30113 . y remain in downgraded class for a long period of time.
Georgia VES 770-918-6271 |0t 2t this time - are considering this asa) ¢ . vicication forms must be submitted in person. Kathy Harvey 478.751-4190 kharvey@dds.ga.gov
future possibility
Per State procedures, failure to provide an updated MEC within 53 days of the
MEC expiration date will result in an immediate downgrade to a class 3 (non-
CDL) license. Will reinstate CDL status when current med cert copy is submitted
YES YES If a Motor Carrier submits their driver's med certs in batches, MC |and, if downgrade was completed, upon payment of a reinstatement fee (varies|
Hawaii 601 Kamokila BLVD., #511 needs to include cover page with company name and phone by County). HI CDL Help Desk 808-692-7659 driverrecords.hwyv@hawaii.gov

Kapolei,HI 96707

808-692-7665

driverrecords.hwyv@hawaii.gov

number or annotate MC name and phone number on each form.




VEs
Idaho Transportation Department PO Box
7129

Boise ID 83707-1129

YES

YES- medical cards can be e- mailed to:
dimail@itd.idaho.gov

long form medical examiner’s report

Only the wallet card s required- not the

Idaho’s self-certification process can be completed quickly and

Commercial drivers who fail to self-certify, and if required, submit a medical

easily online at itd.idah
Drivers who are required to submit a medical card to ITD may
submit the card via FAX, E-mail, US Mail, or may take the card to
any County Driver's License office to be scanned.

card to ITD on or before January 30, 2014 will have their Commercial Driver's

privilege removed from their driver’s license. Drivers must also keep a copy of

their medical card current with ITD to maintain commercial driving privileges
after the January 30, 2014 deadline.

Idaho (208) 330-8586 CDL Helpdesk 208-334-8739 CDLhelpdesk@itd.idaho.gov
All drivers must initially appear at one of our
47 CDL Facilities to Declare the type of
driving they intend to operate. If they
choose NI, they must provide a current
Medical Examiner’s Certificate to be loaded
o eminer s "
o their llinois drving record. (fthey choose|
El, NA or EA, they must sign the declaration | o) oo avion | After the driver's original declaration,
which is loaded to their llinois driving © g " ginal declaration, | ¢ mailed Medical Examiner's Certificates must be a scanned or an | The driver’s CDL privileges will be cancelled. CDL privileges wil be reinstated )
o l 5 renewed Medical | renewed Medical Examiner’s Certificates cres s ] o ertr ’ Tray Wilhour 217-
Ilinois record, After the original declaration, we o ! attached PDF document. An email containing only Medical  |upon receipt and approval of an updated Medical Examiner’s Certificate. There Tracy Wilhour twilhour@ilsos.net
h : e Examiner’s Certificates may be emailed to: e omment o " P ] : 557-5390
will accept Medical Examiner's Certificates ) ° Examiner's Certificate information will not be accepted. is no fee and no examinations required for reinstatement.
; may be faxed to: cdimedicalcard@ilsos.net
mailed to: (217) 558-5156
Secretary of State’s Office
Attn: CDL/Medical Card Unit 2701 South
Dirksen Parkway Springfield, Il 62723
Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med | Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? OF, re- Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current | Name of Public Pointof | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? If YES, fax [address applications only? Contact Public Point of
number Contact
Indiana CLP/CDL holder must maintain on file a valid medal
examination/medical examiner's certificate. When the medical examiner's
certificate expires, the medical status will change from certified to not-certified.
After 30 days the CLP/CDL will be disqualified and downgraded to the driver's
base line license. If the CDL s revoked, invalid, suspended, disqualified or
CDL holder must send all pages of the Medical Examination Report| €XPired longer than 1 year, then the CDL applicant i required to retest (start
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicle, 100 N over. Indiana Bureau of Motor
Indiana 317-974-1613 No for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination along with the 888-692-6841
Senate Ave, N481, Indianapolis, IN 46204 : Vehicles
Medical Examiner's Certificate.
1A DOT, Driver and Identification Services CDLIS driver history record will be changed immediately to not certified and a
PO Box 9204 downgrade to a non-commercial status will be effective in 60 days. The driver
Des Moines 1A 50306-9204 may end or prevent a by providing the
lowa 515-239-1837 CDLMedCert@dot.iowa.gov e-mail scan must be pdf format Kelly Queener 5152449124 CDLMedCert@iowadot.us
Driver Licensing Docking State Office VES Drivers can also complete form online at Decertification at time of medical card expiration. [f a driver fails to re-certify
Building 785- 296-5859 https://www.kdor.org/dI/KCDLCertificate.aspx . within 60 days they will be downgraded to a con- commercial license. Full
ATTN: Medical Cert ves Medical card can be attached online or as an email attachment if i testing required to obtain CDL after 1 year from downgrade.
Kansas P.0. Box 2188 Topeka, KS 66601-2128 | 785-296-0691 is in PDF format Kent Selk 785-296-2013 kent.selk@kdor.ks.gov
medical.certification@kdor.ks.g ov
Attn: Medical
Certification
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet/Drivers
Licensing 200 Mero St.
Frankfort, KY 40622 ' . .
g Submit medical certifications, self-certifications, and |
Kentucky NO NO uomit medical certilications, se-certifications, and commercia <Lyr=none, >1 yr= retest written &vision >5 =start over Customer Service Center | 502-564-1257 kytc.ddiwebservices@ky.gov
applications to web portal at MyCDL.Ky.Gov
Depends on how long the driver goes without COL privileges. Over 1 year wil
result in retesting all written tests. Over 2 years will result in retesting all
P.0. Box 64886 Baton Rouge, LA itten and skills tests.
Louisiana 703950)( aton Rouge, 225-925-3901 OMV_CDL Medical@dps.la.gov PDF format is acceptable written and skills tests. CDL Help Desk 225-925-7727 axton@la.gov
YEs Disqualified from non-excepted interstate operation and downgraded to an
Bureau of Motor Vehicles CDL Compliance cdlcompliance. BMV@maine.gov (must bel excepted status. On January 30, 2014, all CDL holders who are non-compliant
Unit vES a scanned Word doc or PDF) will be downgraded to a non- commercial drivers license. 207-624-9000
Maine 29 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333 207698 9336 Customer can hand carry into any branch or mobile unit location. CDL Compliance Unit et cdicompliance.BMV@maine.gov
0029
YES
Maryland MVA ATTN: CDL MedCert
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE, Room 145 Glen . :
: NE, YES Customer must downgrade to a noncommercial license or their entire _
Maryland i Scanned copy of original CDL Helpdesk 410-424-3777 ) @mva.maryland.gov
arylan Burnie, MD 21062 4107877950 CDLMedCert@mva maryland.gov canned copy of originals g prvone il o canceled, elpdes CDLMedCert@mva.maryland.gov
Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med | Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? OF, re- Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current | Name of Public Point of | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? If YES, fax [address applications only? Contact Public Point of
number

Contact




VES

Mass DOT, RMV Division Driver Licensing
Division - CDL

P.0. Box 55889 Boston, MA 02205

The RMV accepts medical certificates in branch offices.

use the RMV website for this transaction listed under "Other" on

Online Transactions at www.massrmv.com. Mailed, in-person or

faxed medical certificates must be accompanied by a completed
CDL Self-Certification Form which is available on the RMV/

An on-line application is also available. Drivers are encouraged to

Drivers who fail to comply will be disqualified from operating a CMV. If updated

Massachusetts YES 857-368-0818 NO website. information is not received, the COL will be downgraded toa Class D license | oo iconging pivision | 857-368-8110 www.massrmv.com/feedback.aspx
within 60 days. Failure to restore the CDL within 12 months will require
retesting.
I Medical certificates are not accepted via

MI Department of State CDL Help Desk
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918

email, however, customers may self
certify, scan and submit Medical
Certificates via the web.

Medical Certificates are not accepted via email, however,
customers may self certify, scan and submit Medical Certificates

i o Jolynn Peck
Michigan (517) 636-4359 via the web at the link below: As of January 30, 2014, loss of CDL privileges CDL Help Desk Supervisor | >/ 3225555
https://services.sos.state.mi.us/CDLIS/Pages/login.aspx
Driver and Vehicle Services Division 445 Medical Certificates are not accepted via email. The medical ) ) ) .
Minnesota imesots Street. Sut 180 VEs (651) 2974447 o certifcate and self-certification form can be faxed, sent via alor| Dowingrade o icense clss to non-commerical. New medica crtifcate and slf COLHelp Desk €51.267-502 A driverslcense@statomnus
ot Pacl MN 551015175 updated in person at any criver exam station or driver’s license | certification required within one year of downgrade to restore CDL privileges.
application office.
will not will not accept mailed in, Drivers Failure to keep medical certificate current.
laccept mailed in, faxed |faxed in or e-mailed in copies of medical a. Letter mailed to driver 30 days prior to expiration advising them that their
in or e-mailed in copies |card. Must be submitted in person or by imedical certification will expire and they have until expiration to update record
lof medical card. Must |web portal at with new medical certification. One day after expiration their CDL status will
Mississippi will not accept mailed in, faxed ~|be submitted in person |https://www.ms.gov/dps/cdl_m edcard/ show “Not Medically Certified” and downgrade (remove all COL privileges) wil
issisiop 'h’l'l:S'(eb;":;':r‘:‘“t"l:g“’r"e;;;';‘egfs:,f:;: ::!';VS‘/"/?\:E’::S‘:'D Only accept Original Medical card no long forms. Will accept | ©1O% Primary: Lin Easterling Back | 601-987-1367 | N e
Medical Cards that are valid. up: Msgt. Ray Steed 601-987-1334
portal at \/dps/cdl_medcard
https://www.ms.gov/dps/cdl_medcar d/ |/
Driver is currently issued a citation under 307.400 RSMo. If the Department is
notified, proof of DOT medical s requested and if not provided the driver will
be downgraded. Also, i driver fraudulently self certifies during the application
) process they are administratively denied for one year. .
Missouri NO NO NO N/A Public Service Operators 573-751-1887
Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med _|Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, re- Consequences for driver's falure to keep medical certification current | Name of Public Point of | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? IfVES, fax  [address applications only? Contact Public Point of
number Contact
As of January 30, 2014 all commercial drivers who hold a CDLin |All Intrastate and Non-Excepted Interstate CDL holders in Montana must keep a
Montana needed to have Self-Certified to their type operation of | valid and current Medical Examiner's Certificate (MEC) with the Motor Vehicle
a CMV, and submitted a valid copy of their Medcical Examiner's Division. If a Commercial driver does not submit a new MEC on or before
Certificate (MEC). If the Montana motor vehicle division did not | expiration date of their expiring MEC, their medical status will be changed to
receive these documents, the driver'slicensing status would have | “Non-Certified” AND their CDL will be downgraded to “Non-Commercial”’. This
been downgraded from "Commercial” to "Non-Commercial” | action will be taken within 10-days of the MEC expiration date and the driver
status. If a commercial driver exclusively operates a CMV under |will no longer be valid to operate a commercial motor vehicle. The department
one of the "Excepted” statuses, and they have have self-certified | may reinstate a CDL that has been downgraded under this law if, within the ) 406-444-3244
DOJ/MVD CDL Helpdesk PO Box 201430 YES  406-444- " " 2 ° CDL Helpdesk Patrick
Montana cdihelpdesk@mt.gov as "Excepted Interstate”, a MEC does not have to be submitted. original term of the downgraded license, the person: 406-444-2001
Helena, MT 59620 1987 o Suomit a current Med Cort.or Mclannet Beverly Pellen | 500" 22000 bpellen@mt.gov
o Certifies to a change in operation status to “Excepted” Interstate.
Ves Yes dmv.exam- If driver fails to complete the downgrade process, the CDL will be cancelled. If
Department of Motor Vehicles Driver medcert@nebraska.gov cancelled for med cert and send updated self- certification and/or medical card
Licensing Services within 1 year, no testing required.
Nebraska ~ [P-O- Box 94726 Lincoln, NE 68509 02) X;; . N/A Ifover 1 year, all testing required. Driver Licensing Services | 402 - 471-3861 dmv.exam- medcert@nebraska.gov
Any Nevada DMV can accept & Donovan 702-486- Shawanna Washington | 702-486-5655
update CDL physicals. The primary offices 5625 Kathryn Hamlin 775-688-2535
Nevada are: Carson City 775-684- Not a preferred method. N/A CDL s cancelled and a reinstatement fee must be paid Info@dmv.nv.gov
4110 Donovan Way 4829
NLVNV 89030
VES,
NH-DMV/DRIVER LICENSING BUREAU 23
New Hampshire NO NHCDLMEDCARDS@DOS.NH.GO V PDF format only. Commercial driving privileges will be cancelled for failure to comply. Jeff Oberdank

HAZEN DR., CONCORD NH
03305

603-227-4020

Jeffrey.Oberdank@dos.nh.gov




NJMVC CDL UNIT
P.O. Box 685 Trenton, NJ 08666

New Jersey drivers can walk into any MVC agency if they choose

Driver will be Decertified 10 days after Med Cert Expires. Will not be able to

renew without new cert. Notice will be sent to driver once decertified, they will

have 30 days after letter to provide new med cert. If not received, driver will
be downgraded to a basic license.

Lori Sannella

609-292-7500

Lori.Sannella@mvc.nj.gov

New Jersey FAX: 609-984-1245 No to. ext 5077
New Mexico 2546 Camino Entrada Santa Fe, 1-505-476-1578 YES NM will downgrade the Driver's CDL Driving Privileges Yvette Facteau Vickie 505-476-1588 Yvette.| nm.us_Vicki nm.us
NM87507 NMCDL.HelpDesk@state.nm.us Evans 505-476-1581
Accept Mailed-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med | Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, re- Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current | Name of Public Point of | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? IFYES, fax address applications only? Contact Public Point of
number Contact
New York CDL holders should not take their updated medical " CDL holders that fail to keep their medical certificate current become
certificates into a DMV Issuing Office UNLESS they are also | medically “not certified” when the medical certificate on file expires. A letter is
performing a license transaction (such as a renewal). Medical | sent to the driver advising them that they are “not certified” and that their CDL
certificates should be submitted by mail, fax or e-mail directly to |license will be downgraded in 55 days nless they submit an acceptable medical
the Medical Certification Central Office. Drivers should review | certificate to the CDL Med Cert Unit. If acceptable proof of medical certification
their medical certificates for accuracy, legibility and completeness| is not received and processed within 55 days, the CDL is downgraded to a non-
Ves prior to submission. Incorrect, illegible or incomplete documents |  CDL license on the S6th day. Drivers have until the expiration date of their
Medical Certification Unit vES will be rejected. When submitting a medical certificate to the | driver's license, and up to two years past the expiration date, to be recertified s15.470.3603
New York INYS Department of Motor Vehicles PO Box 518-486-4421 CDLMedCertUnit@dmv Medical Certification Unit by mail, fax or e-mail, CDL holders and obtain their CDL again without having to be retested. Two years past the | Medical Certification Unit ML-F 9:00.1:00 EST Dmv.sm.CDLMedCertUnit@dmv.ny.g
2601 518-486-3260 ny.gov should be sure to include current contact information (phone | expiration date of the CDL, all tests (knowledge and skills) must be retaken. CDL 00-1
Albany NY 12220-0601 number or e-mail address) with their document. holders that submit fraudulent medical documents to the Medical Certification
Unit will have their CDL license revoked for one year.
VES — Data Capture Imaging Unit 3126 Mail
Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699- 3126
3126 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-
3126
YES YES Hand deliver form to local NCDMV Office; office locations and
North Carolina 919-861.3599 -mail address: CDLmedical@ncdot.zov [hours on website: www.ncdot.gov/dmy Downgrade to non-CDL; Re-application only Customer Service Center 919-861-3599 cdimedical@ncdot.gov
YES YES Yes - dotfaxdimedicalcerts@nd.gov to non-CDL. R if 1 year or less; if more than
Drivers License Division 608 E. Boulevard 7013280308 1 year, applicant must start over.
North Dakota Avenue Bismarck, ND 58505-0750 If e-mailing submit as PDF. Casandra Aufenthie 701-328-4355 cjaufenthie@nd.gov
Ohio BMV CDL/Out of State Processing|  (614)308-5181 Marcia L. Fisher, Assistant
P.0. Box 16784 Columbus, OH 43216- | Please include a cover (Chief, Driver License
! ) e r r )
Ohio 6784 page with name, CDL@dps.state.oh.us If emailing Medical Certificate, we prefer PDF format. Driver must self.certify in another category (2.3 or 4) or be downgraded to suspension Section Amber. 855-240-8844 CDL@dps state.oh.us
address and telephone an operators license. Lynn Daniels Customer
number Service
YES
Oklahoma Dept of Public Safety CDL
Administration vES YES
, rei i 3 -425- pher@dps state.ok.
Oklahoma PO BOX 11415 405-419-2196 mec@dps.state.ok.us Downgrade, reinstate CDL with proof of new med cert. Tamara Shepherd 405-425-2015 tshepher@dps.state.ok.us
OKC,0K 73136
oMY river afety, CDL Medical f maling media et o, and embecded Word | fectv 30 oy e Conclog e downgrd e corao. oo
Oregon Certification, 1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem, OR |  503-945-5329 DSMEC@odot.state. & " 1P8, P Vs later.  downerace h - on Customer Assistance 503-945-5000  |https: m/Ss L r.htm
downgraded the customer has the option to regain the CDL without retesting

97314

document are acceptable

for up to 3 years.

Does the State:

Accept Mailed-i
mailing address

Med Cert? If YES,

Accept Faxed Med
Cert? If YES, fax
number

Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail
laddress

Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, re-
applications only?

Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current

Name of Public Point of
Contact

Phone Number of
Public Point of
Contact

Email Address of Public Point of Contact

Pennsylvania

PA Department of Transportation Bureau
of Driver Licensing

P.0. Box 68678 Harrisburg, PA 17106~
8678

717-783-5429

CDLmedscert@pa.gov

N/A

Driver's who do not update their Medical Examiner's Certificate prior to the
current certificate's expiration date will have the commercial designation
removed from their driver's license. In order to avoid the immediate removal
of the commercial designation on the driver's license, a driver would need to

update their self- certification to one of the "excepted" categories. However,
making this change to their driving record will automatically disqualify them
from operating in any form of transportation that requires a Medical Examiner's
Certificate.

PennDOT will have
specialized Customer Service
Representatives available at
our Call Center, Monday
through Friday from 8 a.m. to
4p.m.

1-877-726-8824

click on “Contact Us" along the left side of the page

i
www.dmv.state.pa.us




Rhode lsland o o WA None Downgrade of CDL the day after medical certificate CoLunit 401-462- https//www.dmv.ri.gov/feedback
expiration 5813 [index.php
South Carolina Department of Motor To regain the commercial designation once it has been removed, drivers will be
Vehicles required to apply for a commercial learner's permit and complete all required
South Carolina CDL Help Desk PO Box 1498 803-896-2676 cdlhelpdesk@scdmy.net PDF knowledge and skills testing. CDL Help Desk 803-896-2673 cdlhelpdesk@scdmv.net
Blythewood, SC 29016
YES Downgrade, but no re-test. When driver provides a new medical, good to go.
Driver Licensing unless they've been downgraded over a year, then they have to re-test on both
South Dakota | 118 West Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501 None the written and skils tests. Customer Service Section | 605-773-6883 DPSCDLMedcert@state.sd.us

605-773-3018

DPSCDLMedCert@state.sd.us

TN Dept. of Safety and Homeland Security
Commercial Driver License Division 1148
Foster Ave

The driver needs to provide self-certification affidavit provided by
TDOS and the medical card. If email .pdf only

. -4 - - ., Fe-: i - - K .
Tennessee Nashuile, TN, 37243 615-401-7674 DLCDL Medcert@tn.gov Downgrade to non-CDL, re-application only CDL Helpdesk 615-687-2312 DLCDLMedcert@tn.gov
Accept Malled-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med _|Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, re- Consequences for driver's failure to keep medical certification current | Name of Public Point of | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? IfYES, fax [address applications only? Contact Public Point of
number Contact
Driver is downgraded to a "driver license” (DL). Driver may re- establish the CDL|
by visiting a Driver License office, certify to a medical status and provide a valid
MEC/Variance (if applicable).
Texas will waive the written and drivng exams provided the DL has not expired.
If the DL has expired the driver will be required to take and pass all CDL
Texas Department of Public Safety written/driving exams. The driver will also be required to pay the associated fee
Enf £ & Compliance Servi to upgrade the CDL.
Texas nforcement & Compliance Service / 512-424-2002 CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov If emailing Medical Certificate, we prefer PDF format. CDL Help Desk 512/424-2600 CDLMedCert@dps.texas.gov
Attention: CDL Section-Med Cert
P.0. Box 4087 Austin, TX 78773
Driver License Division PO Box 144501 The driver does not comply within 45 days following the expiration date of DOT| _Utah Customer Service
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501 card their license will be disqualified for failure to downgrade. Section s01 965.4437
-4437 or
¢ - il. utah. /dld/ contact.htm|
Utah 801-957-8633 dimedcert@utah.gov PDF format for email 55 a0m st
DMV CDL office 120 State Street | YES 50 long as they are | if scanned with physician signature
Montpelier VT 05603 legible medcert@state.v.us
Vermont suspension and or downgrade to class D operator's license omv 802-828-2085 dmv.medcert@vermont.gov
802-828-5548
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Submit electronically Status will be changed to not certified and if driver does not comply then (30)
(CDL/NDR Work Center, Rm. 420 804-367-6692 https://transfer.dmv.virginia.go v days later the CDL will be canceled and driver will be downgraded to a DRL.
P.0. Box 27412 Richmond, Virginia 23269- Username: cdldriver Password: dmvi23
Virginia 0001 Uploaded document must be ina .pdf, jpeg, doc or CDL/NDR Work Center 804-497-7100 diworkcenter@dmv.virginia.gov
doc* format
First time self-certifying, driver must bring in medical certificate to|  Downgraded. 45 days prior to expiration date the driver is sent a letter
a service counter. All future medical certificate updates may use | outlining the options to submit a new medical certificate. At 12:01am on the
other options (i.e. mail, fax, email) day of expiration the drivers license is automatically downgraded.
Ves. CDL Medical Unit, P.O. Box 9030, Yes, forms only. DOL Customer Service )
Washingt . Yes. 360-570-4915 360-902-3900 drivers@dol.wa.g
ashington | o1y mpia, WA 98507-9030 es CDLMED@DOL.WA.GOV Center rivers@dol.wa.gov
VES VES Submit electronically Downgrade, but no re-test if new certification is received within. three (3) Mike May COL/Driver
West Virginia |Driver Licensing 304-926-3830 | DMVLicenselssuance@wv.gov NA years of initial downgrade Licensing 304-926-0761 Mike.AMay@wv.gov
P. 0. Box 17010
‘Any medical certificate sent into the department should have the
driver's name and contact information included (like a phone
number or email address) in case we have any questions.
Incomplete or illegible certificates may be delayed in being
entered on the record. Although we accept certificates by
mail/fax/email, we would recommend that drivers use a new web
ves application. Driver would have to change their self certification to something other than
Wisconsin | Wisconsin DMV/BDS PO Box 7995 VES YES They can sign into the application from www.wisconsincd gov. |~ Non-excepted interstate or provide an updated medical certificate to the Wisconsin DMV 608-264-7049 dre.dmv@dot.wi.gov
Nadon, Wi 537077995 608-261-8201 dre.dmv@dot.wigov This application can be used to self certify and o upload a medical| department. Once the updates are made on the record, the CDL will be put dre.dmv@dot.wi.gov
g certificate. back to a valid status. No tests are required.
Certificates that are uploaded have to be in JPG, GIF, PNG, or PDF
file types only and can't be over 5 MB. Any medical certificate that
is emailed to the department will have to use the same file type
and size restrictions used in the web application (JPG, GIF, PNG, or
PDF file types only and can't be over 5 MB).
Accept Malled-in Med Cert? If YES, Accept Faxed Med _|Accept Email Med Cert? If YES, e-mail | Other Instructions/Comments; e.g. Start Over? Or, re- Consequences for driver's falure to keep medical certification current | Name of Public Point of | Phone Number of | Email Address of Public Point of Contact
Does the State: | mailing address Cert? IfYES, fax [address applications only? Contact Public Point of

number

Contact




YES YES

Wyoming 5300 Bishop Blvd. 307-777-3800 YES: CDL@wyo.gov Cancelled, must reapply CDL Helpdesk 307-777-3836 cdi@wyo.gov
Cheyenne, WY 82009




