
STATE of NEBRASKA 
OFF ICE OF THE GOVERNOR 

LINCOLN 

EXECUTIVE ORDER No . 20--05 

CORONA VIRUS - MOTOR VEHICLE TITLING, REGISTRATION & DRIVER LICENSE WAIVER 

WHEREAS, th e COVID-19 pandemic has made it necessary to practic e social distancing for th e healt h and 

safety of all Nebraskans; and 

WHEREAS, state law and regulations requir es that certa in Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles' 

documents and licenses be submitted and renewed in a tim ely fashion; and 

WHEREA S, it is necessary to reduce the number of in-person contacts as we ll as to reduce the required 

staffi ng levels of the Nebraska Departme nt of Motor Vehicles for the public health and safety of the state 

of Nebraska; and 

WH EREAS, count ies have continu ed to close local offices thereby reducing the ability to cont inue to issue 

and process Nebraska Departm ent of Motor Vehicles' documents. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, Pete Ricketts, Governor of th e State of Nebraska, by virtue of the aut hor ity vested in 

me by the Constit uti on and laws of Nebraska, hereby issue t his wa iver of specific requ irements of laws 

govern ing motor veh icle titles, registrations, licenses, and perm its. 

Pursuant to thi s declaration, I hereby order the follow ing: 

1. All t itl es, handicap park ing permits, in-tra nsits, temporary vehicle registratio ns, and veh icle 

registrat ions issued under Articles 1 & 3 of Neb. Rev. Stat. Chapter 60 that expire on or after March 

1, 2020 are hereby valid from the date of this order until 30 days after th e lifting of th e declar ation 

of the COVID-19 state of emergency. This will not apply to any documents otherwise issued 

throu gh the limit ed business operations of t he Department of Motor Vehicles and its agents. 

Pursuant to this paragraph, under Art icle 27 of Neb. Rev. Stat. Chapter 77, section 2703 (l)(i), any 

late penalti es and interest that wou ld be required afte r 30 days are hereby wa ived. Pursuant to 

t his paragraph, under Art icle 14 of Neb. Rev. Stat. Chapter 66, any late filin g penalt ies and interest 

are hereby waived. 



2. Expiration dates for all valid Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles identi fi cation cards, driver 

licenses, and comme rcial driver licenses issued under Article 4 of Neb. Rev. Stat. Chapter 60 and 

ot her conditiona l or provisional perm its that expire on or after March 1, 2020, are hereby 

extended until 30 days after the lifting of the declaration of the COVID-19 state of emergency. 

This wi ll not apply to any documents ot herw ise issued through the limi ted business operations of 

the Department of Motor Vehicles. A person who is not eligible to drive due to suspension, 

revocation, cancellat ion, or denial may use licenses or identification cards for ident ificat ion 

purposes only. 

3. All statutory requ irements and deadlines set forth in Art icles 1, 3, and 4 of Neb. Rev. Stat. Chapter 

60 and the Rules and Regulations of the Department of Motor Vehicles and its agents for the 

issuance or renewal of licenses, permits, titl es, liens, certi fi cates of registration, and ot her 

documents by th e Department of Mot or Vehicles and its agents are hereby wa ived until 30 days 

after the liftin g of the COVID-19 state of eme rgency. This wi ll not apply to any documents 

otherw ise issued through the lim ited business operatio ns of the Department of Motor Vehicles 

and its agents. 

4. All ignition interlock device installat ion and service providers governed by the regulat ions set for th 

in 250 NAC Chapter 1 are allowed a two -week extension . for all mont hly service for exist ing 

interlock custome rs. Addit iona l extensions may be available beyond this initi al extension on a 

case-by-case basis as determ ined by the Director of t he Department of Motor Vehicles. 

IN WITNESS THEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Nebraska 

to be aff ixed on this 19th day of March, 2020. 

ATTEST: 

Pete Ricketts, Governor 

Robert B. Evnen, Secretary of State 


