






notwithstanding any state or loca l law that would restrict, delay, 
or otherwise inhibit such use. 

7. The 30-day time period in Health and Safety Code section 
101080, within which a local governing authority must renew a 
local health emergency, is hereby waived for the duration of this 
statewide emergency. Any such local health emergency will 
remain in effect until each local governing authority terminates 
its respective local health emergency. 

8. The 60-day time period in Government Code section 8630, within 
which local government authorities must renew a local 
emergency, is hereby waived for the duration of this statewide 
emergency. Any local emergency proclaimed will remain in 
effect until each local governing authority terminates its 
respective local emergency. 

9. The Office of Emergency Services shall provide assistance to 
local governments that have demonstrated extraordinary or 
disproportionate impacts from COVID-19, if appropriate and 
necessary, under the authority of the California Disaster 
Assistance Act, Government Code section 8680 et seq. , and 
California Code of Regulations, Title 19, section 2900 et seq. 

10. To ensure hospitals and other health facilities are able to 
adequately treat patients legally isolated as a result of COVID-
19, the Director of the California Department of Public Health 
may waive any of the licensing requirements of Chapter 2 of 
Division 2 of the Health and Safety Code and accompanying 
regulations with respect to any hospital or health facility 
identified in Health and Safety Code section 1250. Any waiver 
shall include alternative measures that, under the circumstances, 
will allow the facilities to treat legally isolated patients while 
protecting public health and safety. Any facilities being granted 
a waiver shall be established and operated in accordance with 
the facility's required disaster and mass casualty plan. Any 
waivers granted pursuant to this paragraph shall be posted on 
the Department's website. 

11. To support consistent practices across California, state 
departments, in coordination with the Office of Emergency 
Services, shall provide updated and specific guidance relating 
to preventing and mitigating COVID-19 to schools, employers, 
employees, first responders and community care facilities by no 
later than March 10, 2020. 

12. To promptly respond for the protection of public health , state 
entities are, notwithstanding any other state or local law, 
authorized to share relevant medical information, limited to the 
patient's underlying health conditions, age, current condition, 
date of exposure, and possible contact tracing, as necessary to 
address the effect of the COVID-19 outbreak with state, local, 
federal, and nongovernmental partners, with such information to 
be used for the limited purposes of monitoring, investigation and 
control, and treatment and coordination of care. The 



notification requirement of Civil Code section 1798.24, 
subdivision (i), is suspended. 

13. Notwithstanding Health and Safety Code sections 1797.52 and 
1797.218, during the course of this emergency, any EMT-P 
licensees shall have the authority to tra nsport patients to 
medical facilities other than acute care hospitals when 
approved by the California EMS Authori ty. In order to carry out 
this order, to the extent that the provisions of Health and Safety 
Code sections 1797.52 and 1797.218 may prohibit EMT-P 
licensees from transporting patients to facilities other than acute 
care hospitals, those statutes are hereby suspended until the 
termination of this State of Emergency. 

14. The Department of Social Services may, to the extent the 
Department deems necessary to respond to the threat of 
COYID-19, waive any provisions of the Health and Safety Code 
or Welfare and Institutions Code, and accompanying 
regulations, interim licensing standards, or other written policies 
or procedures with respect to the use, licensing, or approval of 
facilities or homes within the Department's jurisdiction set forth in 
the California Community Care Facilities Act (Health and Safety 
Code section 1500 et seq.), the California Child Day Care 
Facilities Act (Health and Safety Code section 1596.70 et seq.), 
and the California Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly Act 
(Health and Safety Code section 1569 et seq.). Any waivers 
granted pursuant to this paragraph shall be posted on the 
Department's website. 

I FURTHER DIRECT that as soon as hereafter possible, this 
proclamation be filed in the Office of the Secretary of State and that 
widespread publicity and notice be given of this proclamation. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF I have 
hereunto set my hand and caused 
the Great Seal of the State of 

affixed this 4th day 

ernor of California 

ATTEST: 

ALEX PADILLA 
Secretary of State 




