USA Banner

Official US Government Icon

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure Site Icon

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

U.S. Department of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation Icon United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

Commercial Driver' s License (CDL) Program Implementation Grant Eligibility

Eligible Applicants include agencies in each State, including the District of Columbia, responsible for the development, implementation, and maintenance of all or part of the CDL program or that have a direct impact on a State’s compliance with the provisions of 49 CFR Parts 383 and 384.  Agencies other than the lead CDL agency should coordinate, if practical, with the lead CDL agency prior to submitting an application.  For High Priority and Emerging Issues funding, eligible Applicants include State (including the District of Columbia) agencies, local governments, or other persons.  High Priority grants may be made for 100 percent of the costs of research, development, demonstration projects, public education, and other special activities and projects relating to commercial driver licensing and motor vehicle safety that are of benefit to all jurisdictions of the United States or are designed to address national safety concerns and circumstances.  Emerging Issues grants may be made to address emerging issues relating to commercial driver’s license improvements